We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
208
21
5
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
208
21
5
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews other guests mary ellen breakfast room dinner reservations local knowledge b and b cooked breakfast front door upstairs room attention to detail lovely place beautiful location penguins host tasmania nut views
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 239 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2018 via mobile

My wife and I came to Tasmania for a little midyear break. We found a B&B in a beautifull little town of Stanley. The greeting and service from the management was so good we stayed another night, log fires, good wine and supper local knowledge.
In 6 years of regular visit to Tasmania I have never seen the penguins but tonight our host took us on a free tour so we could get some photos.
A wonderfull time spent here and we will be back and I suggest anyone reading get over here and visit Hanlon House Stanley.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

like the first time, everything was perfect, nice host, excellent breakfast., cozy room, easy parking.
we loved to meet the penguins at the beach and even the weather was wonderful. hanon house will be our choice for future visits.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank awr62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

We arrived on 17th April only to find there was no envelope at the front door for self check to the Mary Ellen room. A quick check of our Agoda booking confirmation showed our booking was for 17th February, a mistake by Agoda and our fault by not picking up the mistake. We rang the advertised property phone only to find in was disconnected. Apparently the property is under new management. There was a mobile number for guests if there was trouble with their check in. Carl answered and luckily he was inside the property allowing me to explain the stuff up by Agoda. The property would have been within their rights to turn us away even though we had already paid.
Again luckily for us four things prevailed:
- I had a copy of my credit card statement to verify our payment.
- the property records confirmed our payment and that we were a no show in February.
- our selected room was available.
- the new management are very reasonable people.
The Mary Ellen room was great, clean, comfortable and well furnished. Matt and Karl were very friendly and willing to help with whatever was required. The cooked breakfast prepared by Carl was fantastic and plentiful.
We cannot thank Matt and Carl enough for their understanding to our situation and we could not recommend more highly a stay at Hanlon House.

Room Tip: Mary Ellen room is at the back with a balcony and view of the beach
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

We stayed at Hanlon House in the Lily Emma Room for 8 nights. Matt and Karl were very friendly and willing to help with whatever was required. The cooked breakfast was delicious, and the room was clean, tidy and very comfortable. highly recommend staying here.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank alisonmN3466NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

Hanlon House in Stanley Tasmania was the best accommodation we have had on our Tassie adventure, decore, service and the comfort was all first class, would highly recommend it to anyone thinking staying in Stanley.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews