We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
20
6
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
6
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fresh bread stayed nights lovely garden comfortable bed off street parking great place to stay stanley goldie
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2016

We stayed at Rosebank, one of the two cottages at the out of town location. Pretty quick drive into Smithton for the IGA or takeaways, and closer to The Nut compared to staying in Smithton.

Lovely cottage, and a wonderful touch having a loaf of home made bread waiting for us, and some milk (must have been close to a pint) and orange juice too. Along with breakfast cereals that are provided that we didn't expect. Overall very good value.

Two downsides which didn't affect me personally. My mum reported that her single bit was signifcantly lower on one side and she found it hard to stay on the bed during the night without having to readjust herself. That's because the mattress hasn't been turned from time to time over the years, so it's become depressed on the side that everyone will have sit on.

Other downside for some people will be the bathroom which looks lovely but does require a couple of steps up/down from the bath (which the shower is over). The steps would always be wet from water splashing when showering. No places for hand grips except very lightly on the screen along part of the bath.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank glennomeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016

We booked well in advance the Rosie townhouse. Advertised as modern, superbly appointed, top class linen etc etc. Didn't hear from the owner about accessing key prior to arrival so gave her a call and spoke to her in person about our booking at the TOWNHOUSE, yes booking confirmed and Rose would send us the code for the key pad on date of arrival. All good, received the text and arrived at townhouse and couldn't get key code to work but then noticed through the window thatthere were other people possessions in the unit, gave Rose another call to be told 'Oh no did I not contact you we have had to change you to the COTTAGE ' Explained our earlier phone conversations and confirmation print out stating we had booked the townhouse but she really didn't care and told us we could find somewhere else if we liked. As all accommodation in Smithton already booked out that was a mission impossible! So asked would we receive a discounted rate at the Cottage...No it was the same rate. Well the cottage right next door is an outdated timber cottage with no sign of luxury linen, beds or furniture. Daughter actually had spiders in their bed and our rickety so called four poster bed was lucky to survive two people laying on it and the best was still to come...traffic at 5am and a bedroom resembling the inside of a 100 watt light globe. To say we were pissed off is an understatement. Rose did arrive to present us with a supermarket bunch of flowers and a box of chocolates all containing nuts which my daughter has a severe allergy too! We later found out the guest in the townhouse had been booked in after our initial booking but was guaranteed the townhouse as it was a government booking for a long stay..no doubt earning the owners a nice little profit net and the rest of us regular guests can go and get stuffed. Would not recommend these properties to anyone as the owners simply don't care what they do or who's holiday they wreck and have no respect for the fact we all work hard for our money and if I wanted to stay in this kind of accommodation I would have stayed in a shack in the bush.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2016

unable to get into Stanley because of the fires, we were directed to this delightful cottage up the road. Hostess was lovely and the cottage beautiful. The spa/shower could be difficult to access if elderly or disabled. Lovely fresh baked bread on arrival.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2016

We stayed in the Rosebud Cottage. Comfortable accommodation although the décor may not suit all tastes. Kitchen lacks a couple of essential utensils eg tongs and egg lifter. Spa/shower is great but could be difficult for some people to access. Fresh crusty bread on arrival is delicious. Organisation was a little lacking. We had booked for four nights but were only given breakfast provisions for one night and had to ask for more which was quickly rectified.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notsogreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2015

We had high expectations from the descriptions and the reviews, but found it to be even better. A wonderful place and the 2 bedroom cottage was superb, just what we needed - well equipped and nothing overlooked. We had a warm welcome and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MikeandA001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews