We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Breathtaking spot for our getaway -- so worth the...”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Thalia Haven

Prize-winning architects designed this stone and wood house on the clear waters of Great Oyster Bay.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Prize-winning architects designed this stone and wood house on the clear waters of Great Oyster Bay.
Your own private white sand beach. Just you, the dolphins, and perhaps the occasional penguin. Relax in a nice hot bath outside with the sound of the waves. There's a sauna, too.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Prize-winning architects designed this stone and wood house on the clear waters of Great Oyster Bay.
Your own private white sand beach. Just you, the dolphins, and perhaps the occasional penguin.
Relax in a nice hot bath outside with the sound of the waves. There's a sauna, too.
The whole house is yours: overnights for up to 8 people in 4 bedrooms.
Both the kitchen and dining room open onto the sea.
The kitchen is a cook's dream: double sink, 4 gas burners, and cooking fireplace.
Sleep soundly in king-sized beds with custom-made duvets.
Thalia is made up of separate pavilions around a central courtyard -- each room with ocean views.
The back guest room offers a library of books for you to browse.
The bedroom in the main building opens on the outdoor shower, tub, and wood-fired sauna.
The Green Room looks out onto the courtyard, and has sweeping ocean views to the north.
A hand-made basin in one of the ensuite bathrooms.
The living room looks out on the ocean. Gather around the open fire for a warm evening together.
Candlelight makes dinner a special occasion -- with friends, or just the two of you.
A fire in the living room is cosy and intimate at the end of the day.
Cypresses: a traditional symbol of welcome throughout the Mediterranean, and at Thalia.
The garden is in bloom all year round.
Wow! Turns out the end of the rainbow is on Thalia's beach.
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Orford, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Monique R
Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking spot for our getaway -- so worth the trip to Tasmania!”
Reviewed 19 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

There really are not enough words to describe how magical our stay was -- I could write 10,000 here and not even come close. Thalia Haven really is heaven on Earth -- we had such a relaxing time exploring the area, cooking up storms in the chef's kitchen and watching the sun rise from the outdoor tub. We aren't rich by any means so we unmmed and aahed about splashing out, but it was so worth it. If you're thinking the same, my advice is: Go for it!

Susan was an exceptional host. Before we even checked in, she had sent ideas on where we should shop, and alerted us to the Blood Moon eclipse that would happen during our stay. She really went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed, and she was an absolute pleasure to meet.

Thank you for everything Susan, we can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful house, magical location. We loved the soaps!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2014
I'm so happy to hear you had such a nice holiday with us! Given how widely travelled you two are, your comments really mean something for us. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
“Wonderful holiday destination for our family”
Reviewed 5 October 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Thalia Haven is our favourite holiday destination! We got married at Thalia and have been back twice, now with our children. We love the location and the peace and quiet. We love the beach and the sauna. We love that there are treats for our dog in the pantry. We love having a break from TV. We love to cook in a fireplace. We love that they give you marshmallows to roast. We love how every time they have put in something new: binoculars, new board games, a freezer which was a pleasant surprise because I didn't think solar power could power one. They don't advertise it but they seem to give repeat visitors a discount. It's an easy drive from Hobart for our young family.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Warm wishes to you all from the Thalia Haven team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baladoola
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

I don't normally write reviews for these sites, but I decided to in this case after I read one of the other reviews here. I worry it might mislead some people, and risk them missing a wonderful experience. (Sometimes people seem to write negative reviews just as pay back for some imagined failing; I see the reviewer states he was given a refund, but it was too "small", in his opinion.)

Our experience could not have been more different than what was claimed in the one negative review: we found the whole place immaculately clean and beautifully presented; the kitchen was certainly gourmet by our definition -- steam convection commercial oven, every appliance we could want, dishwasher, microwave, even lobster picks! We found no "chipped" crockery, all of which seemed high end and brand new. The hostess was fantastically helpful.

Certainly luxury by my standards: a wonderful place in a sublime location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2014
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Given that your wife is a chef, your happiness with our kitchen means a lot to us. We hope to welcome you back to Thalia Haven during your next visit to Tasmania.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borgy44
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful position - badly kept.”
Reviewed 17 September 2014 for a stay in January 2014
5
people found this review helpful

Thalia has been built beautifully and is in an incredible setting. The bath outside is a lovely addition. HOWEVER the whole place was very dirty, we had to clean everywhere - especially the kitchen. It says it sleeps 10 but 10 cannot sit around the table or in the lounge. From two of the bedrooms one has to go outside across the courtyard to the bathroom. crockery was chipped and the kitchen was not gourmet. Had it not been advertised as luxury and had the steep price tag, my complaint would not have been so great. We were given a very small refund when complained.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Thalia Haven. Even though your comments came 9 months after your stay, your opinion is important to us: we want to get things right for our visitors. For example, because of the feedback you gave me at checkout, we immediately changed our cleaning crew for a much more professional outfit. And we updated our kitchenware to offer new pots, pans, place settings, and cutlery. As I said at the time, I wish you had contacted me during your stay: we can’t fix things unless we know that something needs changing! At the time, you confirmed that my offer of an over 10% refund was fair, so I hope you still think so now that so much time has elapsed. Honest feedback has always helped us improve what we offer our guests, so again, thank you for your comments, and above all, thank you for choosing Thalia for your holiday in Tasmania.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemary...
Deloraine, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderfully warm and sunny in the winter”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Thalia Haven is an amazing house in a beautiful location. It is a wonderful place to stay with friends or family because it sleeps 8 - 10 people in various combinations. There are 4 bedrooms, all very comfortable, built around a stone courtyard. The kitchen is very well equipped and the oven is awesome. Everything about it is well designed and luxurious, from the very comfortable beds to the sauna and out door bath on the deck.
We had a roaring fire each evening and dined by candle light (although there is plenty of other lighting). The location is very secluded being at the end of a winding road and the views of the Freycinet Peninsula are to die for.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the design of the house
Liked least: the gates on the way in
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2014
Thank you for your review. We're so pleased that your group had such a relaxing time! We've always found that the configuration of cottages arranged around the courtyard works well to allow group members to be together, or to have time to themselves. And yes, winter is wonderful at Thalia, calm, warm, with plenty of sunshine -- and the pleasure of cracking fires. Thank you for sending in your comments!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$611
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing