We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
24
54
38
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
54
38
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river next morning table chairs regular room large room bar fridge sized bed free wifi hotel restaurant check in was quick an overnight stay clean rooms electric blankets one night stay water pressure convenient location comfortable stay
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

Located a few minutes from the Spirit of Tasmania ferry. Room was very clean. Good bed. Plenty of hot water. Heater worked well. Good WiFi. You will have to drive to the nearest restaurant. A categorised list of eateries was provided.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
Thank ozseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner_Edgewater, Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Many thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts and experiences.

Unfortunately our restaurant is closed on Sundays, owing to the high cost of labour. We apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Overall, it sounds as if you had a pleasant stay. Do come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

I stayed here 1 night only in March for work. The room and the bathroom were very large and there was parking directly outside the block. The shower was hot and the water pressure good, the amenities in the room were great including fridge, kettle and plates/cups/bowls etc which meant it was easy to get take away and come back to the room to eat. I think this room may have been one of the newer refurbished ones upstairs - definitely worth paying a bit extra for after reading some of the other reviews. Despite being busy and very close to the ferry terminal, it was very quiet and my sleep was good. The only critisicm I have of the room is that it smelt faintly of cigarette smoke.

Room Tip: The more expensive room upstairs was spacious, clean and bright.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Blackiecat46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner_Edgewater, Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Our sincerest thanks for taking the time to share your feedback and suggestions.

You're a prudent traveller... you did your research and realised the opportunity to UPGRADE for just a few dollars more, which resulted in a GREAT stay.

Although our rooms are non-smoking, occasionally smokers break the rules, which is a hindrance to future guests. It's a shame you didn't notify us immediately, we would have moved you to another room.

Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Picked this accommodation because it looked good online and closest to Ferry Terminal when getting off Spirit of Tassie. No food available even though they appeared to have plenty of bookings. Average room not very clean with mould in bathroom of one room and a colony of ants in our friends room which was discovered the next morning
Will be staying elsewhere on our return trip

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Danny I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner_Edgewater, Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hi Danny, many thanks for your honest and valuable feedback. Your comments have been passed onto housekeeping to ensure we are on top of our game.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

No room to move tiny bathroom and only one bedside lamp in a double room and only one bedside cabinet, No chair, had dinner only once veggies were reheated and tasteless, worse meal ever at a hotel, very noisy early as guests slamming car doors from 5am. Very old decor. .

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 6,120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner_Edgewater, Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

We were very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay at Edgewater.

We have five room types on offer ranging from premium rooms down to small rooms overdue for refurbishment, which are priced accordingly. In an attempt to be honest with online shoppers, I believe we have done all that we can:

> Listed the size, fittings and conditions of rooms on booking platforms
> Named the smallest (outdated) room 'Budget' to avoid misperceptions
> Slashed the room price to reflect a basic product.

On your next visit, may I suggest you consider one of our premium rooms.

Apologies for the noisy departing guests, possibly saddling-up for Spirit of Tasmania. We are well known for being a quiet property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

Close to Spirit of Tasmania ferry pier
A very basic room, clean but old. Near a motorbike clubroom so quite noisy.
We thought $135 for the was very expensive.
Wouldnt stay there again.
It was booked through booking.com and days later we received advertisements for $89 a night which is probably what its worth.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner_Edgewater, Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Many thanks for your valuable feedback, we were very upset to hear of your disappointment.

Yes, there is a motorcycle club (Rebels) diagonally opposite the hotel but they are usually very respectful towards the hotel and guests. Their behavior is usually impeccable and we have neve had noise issues before. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

As for the variance between the room rate you paid and a lesser rate a few days later on bookings.com, booking platforms will provide you the cheapest rate for the rooms available on given days. In other words, on the date of your intended stay, the cheaper rooms had been booked by other guests, thus promoting a higher tariff.

We apologise for any inconvenience caused when making your online booking and sincerely hope you can snag a cheaper rate on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews