We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:30 - 16:30
Save
Review Highlights
Would give this more than 5 if I could!

We stopped in, with our three and five-year-olds, while staying in Low Head. We have read that it... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
swimmingotta
,
Melbourne, Australia
via mobile
Great day out!

There are plenty of interactive things for you to do, very hands on. Lots of different things to... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Jennie M
via mobile
Read all 583 reviews
  
Reviews (583)
Filter reviews
583 results
Traveller rating
417
139
22
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
417
139
22
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews interactive displays gold mining mining history gold mine mining disaster hands on activities triple pass great museum well worth the visit seahorse world and platypus couple of hours all ages gift shop on display self guided tour water wheel interesting place to visit
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 583 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

This is an interesting walk through the past. It also offers a good opportunity to sit and reflect on the events of 2006.
It is a very well thought out space with lots of stuff to look at. We spent 2 hours here and could easily have stayed longer.
As far as heritage centres go.. it is a credit to those who run it

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Visited the Centre to find about the mine collapse tragedy, and learnt so much more. There is so much history and interactive displays for all the family. Make sure you have plenty of time, because you can easily spend the whole day here. Also purchased the Tamar Triple Pass. Both the other attractions as also well worth it. Playtpus House and Seahorse World also well worth a visit. We did all three in one day but it was very rushed.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank AnnieFamily98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

Planned to go to this museum on this trip to Tasmania and I was glad I did. Magnificently presented museum with informative people all willing to tell stories about the place.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Judi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

The mine rescue was very interesting. Old machinery and telephones were great, historic display where good. Gift shop was full of interesting goodies. Good for all ages

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank _mahickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

Very interesting and well set out, this Centre was worth a visit. Acceptable entry fee, very clean toilets and excellent gift shop as well as a very extensive and informative mine heritage centre. There were lots of fun things to do for all ages and we had a really good time there.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank D_Walton2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews