We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveller rating
106
60
15
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
106
60
15
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loft apartment spa bath gas fire the kitchen blue mountains three nights self catering our night stay sized bed both sides my partner on arrival bit concerned washing machine and dryer perfect location to explore two storey glowing reviews
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 184 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

Our family stayed for a week recently. From the get go, we had a superb experience. The accommodation is extremely confortable and the heating ensures a very cosy stay in the winter weather. It is scrupulously clean, with very comfortable bedding and seating. The kitchen has everything you need to self cater. DVDs are available free of charge from reception. Unfortunately, we were involved in a car accident during our stay. The staff could not have been kinder or more helpful to us and organised a taxi for us back to the accommodation along with suggestions for how we could manage dinner requirements for the evening. Now this is hospitality and service! Thankyou to all at the Falls Mountain Retreat.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank LFrassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

Yes, it was clean enough. Sure, the spar bath is nice for those who like spars. But the shower arrangement is impracticable. Further, there were a number of minor maintenance issues with the accommodation provided to us, which is a disappointment in this price bracket. BTW, the “private balconies” are not all that private. I was also a bit concerned at the proprietor’s cyber security process with their scanning and storing of guest’s identity documents and credit cards. It seemed a bit over the top and exposes their customers ID data. While this accommodation is better than the typical cottage in the Blue Mountains, I won’t be going back for a second stay.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank WhyN0tMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallsBlueMountains, Owner at Falls Mountain Retreat Blue Mountains, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Dear 'WhyN0tMe' – We’re sorry to hear you felt there were a couple of issues you found disappointing.

We welcome many guests every year and request every one on check in to let us know if there's anything at all we can assist with during their stay - we do this because we want everything to be spot on for you. It is very difficult to satisfy guests if we are not made aware of any concerns while you are actually here.

Without knowing your name, when you stayed, what room type and what rate you paid it is difficult for me to effectively respond to your opinions but needless to say if you felt there were minor maintenance issues I'm sincerely sorry. That shouldn't happen and we wish we were given the opportunity to resolve these for you at the time. With the exception of our accessible studio apartment all showers are over the hydrotherapy spa bath, you can see this in almost every photo showing our bathrooms. Every apartment with a balcony actually has two - one at either end of the accommodation, they are private as they are only accessible to the guest in that letting.

I was quite offended by your false implication on 'cyber' security. You could not possibly know our processes, nor how seriously we take information security and our responsibility to the Australian Privacy Principles enshrined in the Privacy Act.

While thankfully the vast majority of people remain trustworthy and decent, unfortunately given enough exposure to enough people we do run into the occasional unpleasant exception. We need to know who our guests are, not just who they say they are - and for fraud prevention or legal action should the worst occur that means obtaining a scan of the guests ID in compliance with the previously mentioned Privacy Principles.

That ID is simply printed onto the registration form guests sign on check in and after departure it is stored in a secure filing facility then destroyed. In fact any sensitive payment or identification data is not even kept on a computer in our operation – it is briefly stored in an encrypted file container and then securely wiped using professional security software daily. Call me old school but for my money the best way to protect guest data is to keep it stored physically offline and I don't think that is over the top at all.

We’re firm believers in the benefit of open and honest communication so if anyone out there has any other questions please get in touch with us for a chat by phone or email. It’s that old school thing again, human to human versus the impersonal corporate overlords you see advertising all over sites like this (guarantee we’ll save you money too!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

We took the one bedroom apartment for 3 nights and it turned into a home away from home. We had everything we needed in the kitchen and the laundry room was in the toilet. You can tell that the place had been refreshed but not overhauled. There was free WiFi and a real fireplace. There was also a little backyard, but not much of a view there. The property is located a little ways in so you would need to drive. There was a jacuzzi large enough for 2 adults in the toilet which was a treat for us.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank PrisVivienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018

This place is very tranquil with the gardens and trees surrounding it and you certainly can relax while having a drink or two on either side of our loft. The loft itself is very spacious with King size bed, lounge, dinning table & chairs and a spar big enough for 2 adults. The gas fire place and air conditioning along with the electric blanket definitely kept us warm the whole time. The kitchenette had everything you needed however the microwave and cupboards above were way to high if you are only short. The TV was small for the size of the loft and the sound was brilliant. Our real concern was the steps leading up to the loft as they are steep and at the top there is no handrail.

Room tip: Relaxing & peaceful
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank khhuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018

We had a loft studio apartment which was very large and open. It had a gorgeous fireplace which was lovely to warm up by. The room itself was clean and comfortable. The kitchenette had everything that we needed. We found the bed quite comfortable and the blackout curtains were appreciated in the morning. The grounds were lovely and we can see that the retreat is preparing for the future with many small Japanese Maples planted among the larger trees and plants. Our bathroom had a spa but we did not make use of it. The bathroom itself was clean and well maintained. Great location to hiking trails while being far enough away from main roads to keep it peaceful and tranquil. Our only wish was that there was some sort of breakfast option with the hotel. That said there are some wonderful cafe options not too far away. We would love to stay here again.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank russem007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews