We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gold”
Review of Restaurant 1888

Restaurant 1888
Ranked #11 of 36 Restaurants in Blackheath
Description: one of the oldest establishments in blackheath, Quiet and homely,great outlook, traditional English menu in restaurant, open fire place to have a quiet drink. your host Karen and Kevin always make you welcome.
Restaurant details
Description: one of the oldest establishments in blackheath, Quiet and homely,great outlook, traditional English menu in restaurant, open fire place to have a quiet drink. your host Karen and Kevin always make you welcome.
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

Old style homely English type just like mum's or grandma's cooking.
Had the chicken & mushroom pot pie, super fresh vegies, everyone enjoyed their meals sort of laid back old style atmosphere definitely come back again

Thank deanknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen B, Manager at Restaurant 1888, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018

Thank you deanknows for taking the time to review us. Hearty, old-fashioned traditional food is our thing. We are so glad you enjoyed it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

It was hard to find a restaurant in Blackheath to accomodate our group of 8 at late notice. It was no trouble for Restaurant 1888 to provide great food and wonderful service on short notice just as they were getting ready to close. Beautiful restaurant full of character and warmth with food to match. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meals.

Thank Ingything
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen B, Manager at Restaurant 1888, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018

So happy you enjoyed your dining experience with us Ingything! Thank you for your patronage and your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

Arrived in Blackheath late and hungry. Despite being ready to close they put together a table of 8. Beautiful old place with lots of character, and we left a couple of hours later having enjoyed a great night with great service and very nice meals. Highly recommend.

Thank Go549610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen B, Manager at Restaurant 1888, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2018

Thank you so much for your review. We don't mind late drop-ins at all. We understand sometimes it's hard to find anywhere to eat in the mountains at 8 pm. Kevin and I are very happy that you enjoyed your meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

Was really looking forward to our meal.what a waste of time and money.
Watery cauliflower soup. Steak and kidney pie had tough steak. Dollop of cold mashed potatoes and squash and other veggies straight from a freezer.
When I gave my feedback the owner said are you serious?
Yes I am and we won’t be back

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen B, Manager at Restaurant 1888, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Tony, I'm sorry you were disappointed with your food. We strive to provide quality, fresh food and wine at reasonable prices in a cosy environment, however, if someone is not satisfied, for whatever reason, we will do our best to give them another meal or not charge them. Unfortunately you didn't inform me until the end of your meal that you were not satisfied and it was only because I asked. When I asked for your feedback, you stated that the food was "inedible" however you had eaten most of it so I initially thought that you were joking. I apologise for the misunderstanding. I was very taken aback by your comment and possibly didn't respond appropriately. We would have loved for you to express any issues with the food immediately so as to give us the opportunity to rectify the situation. As for the vegetables, they are always fresh and we pay top price for them to ensure their quality and freshness. It is not possible to freeze squash and the other vegietables anyway. Our offer still stands of a free meal for you and your partner and I hope that someday you will take us up on our offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

Generous serves, tasty food and lovely wine. Amazing Porter House steak with melted Stilton. Also check out the Pork ribs. We will be back

Thank Hungry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen B, Manager at Restaurant 1888, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Thank you Hungry A for your kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed our food and wine. Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant 1888 also viewed

Blackheath, Blue Mountains
Blackheath, Blue Mountains
 
Blackheath, Blue Mountains
Blackheath, Blue Mountains
 
Blackheath, Blue Mountains
Blackheath, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Restaurant 1888? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing