We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Constantly craving their food, hospitality, and ambiance.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lagunita

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Lagunita
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Yelapa
Kingston, New York, United States
1 review
“Constantly craving their food, hospitality, and ambiance.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

Choosing Hotel Lagunita as our wedding venue was an easy choice. Our guests did not want to leave and are now planning their next trip back! We had a good mix of guests (25 people), ranging from beauty queens to boy scouts. Hotel Lagunita accommodates all kinds! It was rustic enough for the adventurous, with the comforts of home to suit those uneasy travelers. Be ready for a slower pace than Vallarta, you may have to wait for your room. This is not a fault of the hotel, but the inability for travelers to admit it's time to go. The service at the restaurant is fast, always there when you need them, and never when you don't. They give you space to enjoy your meal and drinks from the beach. We've had 3 visits to Yelapa and feel that although the food in the village is fabulous, there really is no reason to leave Lagunita! Fair prices, good portions. Our favorites include the ceviche, burritos, pasta dishes... oh and their chili rellano? BEST I'VE EVER HAD! The staff is helpful and will give you good adivce on how to best spend your time in Yelapa. They also provide great service in helping you get your bags to your rooms and to and from the pier.

Room Tip: Some Ocean View rooms may share an open-type roof with the neighbouring palapa. The honeymoon suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    106
    32
    29
    20
See reviews for
54
151
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Novato
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

I absolutely love Hotel Lagunita. Luke and the others will make every effort to make you feel comfortable and cared for. After your boat ride from Puerta Vallarta (Yelapa is only accesible by boat) you will be welcomed and led to your Palapa covered room. You can see the ocean and hear it as the waves move in and out. Fantastic food too! The town is an authentic Mexican town where the people are friendly and warm. I love watching the kids walk to and from school. Yelapa is a magical place and Hotel Lagunita is just the right place to stay.

Room Tip: Depends on what you like. Right on the beach, or above it. If you want to be right on the beach, 4 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JannaByoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

This is our 3rd trip to Hotel Lagunita in Yelapa. After trips 1 & 2, my (now) wife and I decided that we needed to have our wedding ceremony at Lagunita. In hindsight, we can't imagine doing anything else! We arrived by boat (arranged by the hotel) in the early afternoon, the staff met us at the pier to help with the luggage of all 25 people. The staff was absolutely amazing in getting everything coordinated and added a number of (unexpected) personal touches to just about everything.

It's been about a month since we left and I get emails or texts from my family and friends longing to be back at Lagunita. Yelapa is a great place on its own, but the service and the hotel certainly push the location to the next level.

If you are planning to have a wedding anywhere in Mexico, this is the place. My wife and I plan on being back as often as possible, which is the same message I'm hearing from a lot of my family and friends. Thank you Lagunita for the AMAZING service and memories! Can't wait to see you again.

P.S. The food at the restaurant was out of this world. Every year it seems to get better and better.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huron, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

For intrepid travelers who are looking for a getaway that is neither too commercial nor too primative, Yelapa may be the place for you. Nestled south of PV, Yelapa is a quiet fishing village, with daytime activities that include whale watching, para gliding and hiking.

On the coast of this village lies Hotel Lagunita, a civilized oasis of pelapas, hot water, a fine restaurant and exceptional personal service.

In particular, the food at Lagunita is the best in the village. Whether you prefer breakfast at sunrise or a cozy table at sunset, you can sink your feet into the sand and dine al fresco on freshly prepared local ingredients (think seafood, fruit and a lot of lime!) and combinations. The kitchen staff has put together a menu of options that cause me to salivate and dream until my next trip . . . !

If you're looking for creature comforts, Yelapa may not be the place for you. But if your adventuresome soul is yearning, you need to get away from the insanity of life today and you want to make the connections of a lifetime, Hotel Lagunita is just the locale.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boatbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Stayed at Lagunita for 4 nights in December. The location is great, our room had a beautiful view. The room was definitely rustic. Furniture and linen etc was pretty shabby. Although nothing shocking (but made the room seem a bit overpriced). Our main gripe was that the room itself was NOT clean. There was tons of gecko (and various other little critters) poo on the top of the wardrobe and walls. The smell was pretty disgusting. A used bandaid was lying in the shower when we arrived (and was never removed by housekeeping). The linen/towels etc were perfectly clean.

The restaurant was good and all the staff were lovely, friendly and attentive.

All in all, loved Yelapa but would probably bring some heavy duty cleaning gear next time and maybe some nice smelling candles!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kel88821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelapa
10.7 km away
Hotelito Mio
Hotelito Mio
#1 of 1 in Cabo Corrientes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
19.9 km away
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & Spa
Garza Blanca Preserve, Resort & ...
#11 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
19.9 km away
Hotel Mousai
Hotel Mousai
#4 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 km away
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
Costa Sur Resort & Spa
#38 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
23.5 km away
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
Playa Conchas Chinas Hotel
#95 of 126 in Puerto Vallarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.2 km away
Casa Bahia Bonita
Casa Bahia Bonita
#5 of 6 in Yelapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lagunita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lagunita

Property: Hotel Lagunita
Address: Barcina 3 la Playa, Yelapa, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > Yelapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Yelapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lagunita 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Lagunita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagunita Hotel Yelapa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing