We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,182)
Filter reviews
1,182 results
Traveller rating
658
278
140
68
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
658
278
140
68
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews climping beach the main house open fire spa treatments superior room outdoor pool four poster bed the general manager great spa walk in shower feature room cream tea spa area steam room hot tub three courses roll top bath
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 1,182 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely place. Staff really nice and food lovely.
Went due to reading an article in the telegraph? Said it was family friendly. They try to be but have not quite got it yet. Pool time restrictions for kids.
Restaurant really restricted if you want to eat before 7pm with kids. Just snack menu and you eat in lounge or courtyard.
They had a major wasp issue... and I do mean MAJOR!!!
Come as a couple.... not with baby/young children.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Ruchita E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Everything about Bailiffscourt is wonderful.......except for the way it is run. It is the most amazing collection of old buildings and buildings built with old materials. It is child-friendly, dog-friendly and there is something for everyone to do: spa, indoor and outdoor heated pools, tennis courts, croquet lawn, beautiful garden, immaculate grounds, five minutes from the beach....just amazing.
BUT, how could the management be so incompetent? The reception is chaotic; there must be a better place to locate it. Rooms were allocated incorrectly - there was absolutely no excuse as I was very precise with my booking.
The menus for Saturday dinner and Sunday lunch were identical, except for the addition of roast beef on Sunday. It was a very small menu and if you are staying for the weekend you do not expect to be presented with the same restricted choice two meals running. The wrong wine was brought.
Two of our party ordered smoked haddock with poached eggs for Sunday breakfast - the haddock was tough and hardly tasted of smoke and the eggs were overcooked. Both people left half of it but the waitress who collected the plates didn't comment or ask if there was a problem. In fact, she gave the impression that she would rather be anywhere else but there.
So sad, it could be fantastic but at £565 per room dinner, bed and breakfast is was a massive (and expensive) disappointment.

Stayed: September 2018
3  Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited twice in one week so shows how good this place is.
Lunch menu is very good and served in fabulous surroundings.
Service is friendly without being intrusive.
On second visit with friends they too were very impressed both with ambiance and quality.
Would have given 5 stars but wine is expensive- despite that the Hotel is very popular.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Helpful professional staff excellent food. Unique property. Good for walking and being by the sea. They would organise a picnic for the beach or the grounds. The lounges are warm an cosy. Spa are clean and tidy. Could do with more relaxation area. Spa treatment excellent .

Room Tip: All rooms are individual. With good facilities.
Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mermaid0219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Five of us had lunch in the restaurant and our starters were delicious. I had mushroom soup and it was delicious, my four companions gave their starters the thumbs up too. The main courses were disappointing - small, a bit bland and ordinary - the beef brisket was dry, my plaice was all bone and not much flesh, the dish of the day seemed to be the risotto. Maybe it was just an 'off' day for the kitchen staff. The service was great and everything was beautifully presented.
The hotel and grounds are stunning and I'd love to go back and stay there.

Room Tip: My review relates to the restaurant only.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberta F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews