We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charlecote
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Weekend break”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

we had a three night weekend break with a lovely big room good food and entertainment on Saterday night. the location is just right for Stratford with the local bus stopping right out side the hotel also if you are a member of the National Trust Charlecote Manor is just across the road and is a must to visit, I have just three gripes that spoiled the stay ,right at the end of the online booking a charge of £11.00 to pay by credit card & £12.50 per person cancellation charge for travel insurance both of these i did not pay also a very old TV that did not even have Freeview in this digital age but apart from these small points we would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eltel45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Please ignore this misleading review.



I recall you had previously stayed at the hotel and on the last occasion I upgraded your room free of charge to a superior due to a minor issue with the bedroom door.



The room which you had been checked into had been vacated that morning and the housekeeper reported that the TV was working properly.



After you reported that it was damaged and when our staff investigated it, it was found that the cable had been cut and

our receptionist informed that as it was the weekend we could not fix the TV and had no other room to move you in to.



You demanded to be refunded which we gladly obliged.



When the receptionist had not had the key returned she came to the room to find a do not disturb sign on the outside door.



When the room was eventually vacated, on inspection it was evident that the shower had been used as the floor was soaking and all towels had been used, and empty beer bottles all left round the room as well as empty tobacco pouches at the Window and the room stank of alcohol and smoke.



I received a phone call from your partner to whom I explained the facts of what had happened and the state you had left the room in to which she apologised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    278
    117
    48
    35
See reviews for
110
474
28
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

After reading the reviews I was a bit apprehensive as what to expect.
It could not have been better, booked a Monday to Friday stay with Shearings self drive. All the staff were excellent receptionists, waiters and waitressess bar staff and chambermaids.
Very good selection on the menu both for breakfast and dinner.
We had standard room was was large and a bath/shower which were both very clean.

Ideal for touring the Stratford area

And very good value for the money

The only reason that I have not given 5 its as my wife always said that there is always room for improvement but it is hard to find where.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank TheRamblers66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
It was so nice to read your very touching comments and kind remarks about all the team here at Charlecote Pheasant, I have passed them on to all Depts. As a holiday Company we do offer great value breaks in our own Hotels and it's very reassuring that you enjoyed it so much here at the Charlecote. It is a great place to base yourself and tour the beautifull surrounding area and with the National Trust Charlecote Park across the road you dont have to go to far if you dont want to. Hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed just one night here as I have a friend living nearby and our football team were playing locally so my husband went to the game while I met my friend.

Very impressed with the standard of the hotel which looks as if it's been refurbished fairly recently. Our room was large and cosy, very comfortable and spotlessly clean. In the Farmhouse annexe which was just across the car park - not very nice weather for walking about as we had heavy snowfall in the afternoon, but that wouldn't normally be an issue.

Found all the staff very cheerful and pleasant - nothing seemed too much trouble.

We had dinner from the set menu and food was hot and tasty, so was the breakfast next morning.

Hope to return when the weather is warmer.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank blynda9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Im glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and like many other customers found it great value for money. The Farmhouse building is infact the original part of the hotel and as you have said has some beautifull bedrooms, the reception area and Bar and Restaurant where indeed refurbished in March 2011. I do hope you reurn in the summer as again enjoy all that the Charlecote Pheasant has to offer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I booked a last minute holiday as builders were in residence in my own cottage. I was astounded at the quality of the hotel, the food was really good, food hot and presented on really hot plates. The staff were friendly and still professional. I asked for a ground floor room as I have difficulty with stairs, my room in the cottage annex was beautiful,well appointed and well heated. Will return in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jaci E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay here at the Charlecote Pheaasnt I Shall pass on your wonderfull comments to all the team, and ghope it's not to long till we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

stayed here on an alleged "special rate" for a colleagues wedding in summer. Stayed in the block with medieval themed decor.Breakfast resembled NHS catering after a very long wait. Checkout was way early at 10am for a weekend. Price-quality unimpressive.Never again....

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kayzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheagm, General Manager at The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay last summer at your friends Wedding, we do offer all wedding guests a special rate, and in comparison to our competitors in the surrounding area it is a very good value for money rate. Breakfast is served from 8.00am till 10.00am late check out is available at 12 noon and is on request all the services that we offer are clearly in the information folders supplied in the bedrooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlecote
4.7 km away
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall Hotel & Spa
Mercure Warwickshire Walton Hall...
#1 of 1 in Wellesbourne Hastings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,657 reviews
5.5 km away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,820 reviews
8.2 km away
Mallory Court Hotel
Mallory Court Hotel
#1 of 16 in Leamington Spa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
9.3 km away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
8.4 km away
Ettington Chase Hotel
Ettington Chase Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ettington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel

Property: The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel
Address: Nr Stratford-Upon-Avon, Charlecote CV35 9EW, England (Formerly Coast & Country Charlecote Pheasant Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Charlecote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Charlecote
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful country house hotel set in the delightful village of Charlecote, opposite the village church, historic Charlecote House and Deer Park. Those wishing to adventure a little further, The Charlecote Pheasant is just minutes from the historic towns of Stratford upon Avon, Warwick and Leamington Spa. The hotel offers charm and character combined with fantastic new facilities. The Charlecote Pheasant has 69 bedrooms with some beautifully appointed superior and premier rooms.The Charlecote Restaurant with its original solid beams and other features adds to the overall character to offer an informal dining experience. The hotel Bar and Lounge offers a relaxing retreat to read or enjoy an afternoon tea. The Hotel has 4 acres of landscaped grounds to provide a lovely rural feel, sit out in and enjoy a refreshing drink. For the more active there is a tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Charlecote Pheasant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Charlecote Pheasant
Charlecote Pheasant Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing