We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Campanile Washington
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street(Chester-le-Street)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angel View Inn(Gateshead)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (389)
Filter reviews
389 results
Traveller rating
61
110
109
66
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
110
109
66
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbudget hotellow budgetfree wifidouble roombeamish museumbearing in mindfull englishcouple of nightsgreat value for moneyfriendly hotelcomfy bedquiet locationplenty of parkingstayed for two nightswould stay againevening mealtea and coffee
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
363 - 368 of 389 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2011

I've been used to the Campanile hotels in France so i thought this would be along similar lines, only £52, you can't complain about the price, and the greeting fine, very friendly and 'happy to do their best to solve any problems'. Trouble is the biggest problem is the fabric of the property itself. I didn't actually end up sleeping here, its only a few yards from the A1 and is very noisy with poor double glazing. The room walls are wafer thin and you could easily have a conversation with your next door neigbour by barely rasing your voice and the foul one sided conversation I had to overhear was enough to make me leave for the Holiday Inn Express on the same site. The carpets are not clean the decor is worse than tired and the room smelt.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LondonNifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

My wife went after one night's stay from the Campanile straight to Redworth Manor (Barcelo) a few miles away for our daughter's wedding reception. We had a fabulous reception, but paid three times as much, for which we got large grounds we could walk in, a gym, a pool and a fancy, attractive building, but very expensive food and very slow service.
My input on this Campanile is that if you want somewhere comfortable to rest your head for the night with kettle, drinks and TV in your room, and have a first rate breakfast (far better than the posh place), which was clean, had helpful staff, but didn't have the finery of oak beams and sweeping staircases, then I personally would go here every time.
It really depends on what you want.
Incidentally, we were kept up until 2.00 in the morning at Redwood Manor by party revellers, so you will get this anywhere.
Plus, the Wi-Fi was free here - charged at Barcelo

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kemble_Steve_and_Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

We booked two days and extended our stay to four days because we slept so well and the rooms were so quiet. We also had our small dog with us and he hears little noises in the night and gets upset --However, these rooms are each set down their own little hallway past the bathrooms and then the bedroom is seperated by another door. So entry door --->hallway-->bedroom door = very quiet indeed. We all slept well.
The beds were fine and no complaints there. There is a place outside the reception area where you can walk your dog. Also, you are located in a quiet estate where you can also take walkies. For distance, take the long estate walkway on the verge towards the industrial estate. We left dog in the car, while we took breakfast and dinners in the Campanile Restaurant. Was nice after sightseeing all day. Nearby amenities: Newcastle, beaches and Souter Lighthouse. You can't beat the value and price of the rooms: only 47.00 ! Highlights: Free Parking, Dogs Allowed, Restaurant on premises, WIFI

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SkipperTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights for business primarily because I really struggled to find anywhere closer to Chester Le Street where I wanted to be and that was within budget.
It's fine accommodation wise although perhaps a little overpriced at £51.95 for room only.
It has its own restaurant which I didn't use, there are other limited options in the local area, the Toby Carvery and Chevys Sports Bar.
The staff were all very helpful.
The room could have done with another socket to allow phone charging and laptop use at the same time as having the TV on in the background, everything else in the room is hardwired. Check laterooms.com for deals at the last minute, thats the main reason I chose this particular hotel as well as the one cheaper night brought down the overall cost.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graeme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2009

This place is long overdue for refurbishment. Although it has "no smoking" notices everywhere, it has that musty smell that comes from old cigarette fumes. The room carpet was stained, thin and sticky and the decor was dated and unattractive. Curiously, the shaver electricity point is very close to the wc pan - I wonder whose idea that was.

On the plus side, the bedroom and bathroom were a good size and reasonably furnished and equipped for a short stay in a hotel of this class but it really does need some money spent on it.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank CliffWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews