We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“great service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in South Shields
Certificate of Excellence
edinburgh
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Just left this premier inn after spending 4 nights with my family and have to say that the staff area credit to Premier inn. From the cleaners to chefs everyone was so helpful and pleasant. Duncan who had finished the night before at midnight then was back in next morning serving breakfast to us with a big smile and a great attitude. The same can be said for Dawn as well.
Great breakfast with Costa coffee a good start to the day.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scotEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janis K, Manager at Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Thank you so much for your review. It is always very appreciated when people take the time to recognise great service. We strive to deliver the highest levels of customer service to all of our guests and it is always nice to hear that we are achieving this. We very much look forward to welcoming you to South Shields again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    120
    35
    19
    9
See reviews for
173
98
20
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I can not fault the premier inn hotel, as a frequent user of premier ins (4/5 nights per week) I always choose this chain as 'you know what you get'. As for the hotel it was above the usual standard, cleanliness was excellent and the reception staff were friendly and welcoming. My only gripe with this location was the restaurant, arriving on Monday 26th march, myself and my colleague used the ultimate buffet. It was just after 7:30pm and the food quality was horrendous, being tired from our journey we just accepted, at 9:30 the member of staff was picking up our glasses (with drinks still in them) making us feel rather uncomfortable. On the second night we were weary of using the restaurant as after a long day we wanted to relax. Well, it was like night and day, the service was excellent on the Tuesday evening, we opened a tab, had a couple of drinks and some food. At 9:30 a waitress asked if we would like another drink! Bearing in mind the previous night we were asked to leave, we offered to move to the bar where we were told we could have another drink and relax, outstanding compared to the previous evening. The manageress on duty that evening, Tuesday 27th march was also on duty the following morning for breakfast and could not have been more helpful, a credit to the restaurant! If we had only been there the one evening I would have blocked this hotel for my company which has 70,000 employees due to the poor service.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

My family and I recently stayed at the premier inn South Shields and found the staff absolutely brilliant nothing was too much trouble, very clean and well maintained hotel, the restaurant which is attached to the hotel was an all you can eat buffet which we found most of the food looking very dry as if it had been out for a long time and the quality is very poor, i would suggest eating in the town centre on ocean road which has a wide range of restaurants and good fish and chip shops.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jillmarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janis K, Manager at Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you so much for your review. It is always appreciated when people take the time to recognise great service. We strive to deliver the highest levels of customer service and we are sorry you didnt quite find this in our adjoining restaurant but hope this in no way deters you from any future stays as we very much look forward to welcoming you again to South Shields.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Stayed hear a few times nice and handy for visiting friends and family always a warm welcome from the staff. Can be a bit noisy sometimes especialy at weekends. Clean warm and comfortable and always provide everything we need.

Room Tip: Try to get the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Having returned our son to University after a 300 mile trip we decided to stop for one night at this Premier Inn. Quite an old building & to be fair it's looking about tired, the rooms & bathrooms when you look at the detail could also do with a bit of spruce up but what they lack here is certainly made up for in customer service! The girls we chatted to on reception were so helpful (I had my leg in plaster!), even down to the cleaning staff - everyone made a point of saying hello & asking if we needed anything which was great - we actually commented that we this is the friendliest Premier In when in fact some larger far more expensive hotels could do we sending their staff to this place for customer service lessons!! We had breakfast as part of the stay in the adjoining Taybarn - again couldn't fault it, food & service was excellent. If you need a reasonably priced place to say you won't go wrong here.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Titchyferret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janis K, Manager at Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you very much for your review. It is always appreciated when people take the time to recognise great service. We strive to deliver the highest levels of customer service to all our guests and it is so nice to hear that we are achieving this. We very much look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Shields
3.6 km away
BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel
BEST WESTERN The Sea Hotel
#3 of 6 in South Shields
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
3.9 km away
Little Haven Hotel
Little Haven Hotel
#1 of 6 in South Shields
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
2.4 km away
Sir William Fox Hotel
Sir William Fox Hotel
#4 of 6 in South Shields
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Premier Inn North Shields (Ferry Terminal) Hotel
3.7 km away
Quality Hotel Boldon
Quality Hotel Boldon
#1 of 1 in West Boldon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
2.6 km away
Athol House
Athol House
#5 of 6 in South Shields
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel

Property: Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel
Address: 2 Hobsons Way, Newcastle Road, South Shields NE34 9PQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > South Shields
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in South Shields
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy fish and chips in Whitley Bay or head to Sunderland or Newcastle, all within 20 minutes' drive ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and Booking.com so you can book your Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn South Shields Hotel South Shields
Premier Inn South Shields Port Of Tyne Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing