We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SMELLY DOSS HOUSES”

Normanton Park Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Croydon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Normanton Park Hotel
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“SMELLY DOSS HOUSES”
Reviewed 1 August 2011

scrap cars in car park, smell like it looks when you get through the door. not been looked after since the 60s. same could been said for the owner. place was full or what I could only say there where people who where at their lowest due to drink or drugs. cost me a weeks money only stayed 1 hour slept in my car in a layby as safer and did not smells like a toilet. PLEASE DO NOT BOOK THIS FEA BITTEN LOWEST OF LOWEST SMELLY DOSS HOUSES. I Hope People Read This Before Booking. It Needs Pulling Down Its A Death Trap.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank whatdosshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    1
    2
    2
    28
See reviews for
2
4
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

this is the smelliest, nastiest place I have every visited let along stayed in - it stuck to high heaven - nasty nasty place -- would be surprised if it is still open - has anyone stayed there recentaly

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank supergran0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2010

Please just dont stay here ! In a word, tired and needs some serious updating, particularly the reception and frontal area.I am truly amazed it is allowed to stay open as an ongoing business concern. No running hot or even mildy warm water. I was told when booked the rate included breakfast but this was then an extra.

This hotel is the worst I have ever stayed in. Not recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Neil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2009

Frankly, I feel sorry for all those who have not benefitted from the truth of the reviews on this site about this woefully unacceptable place.

I am amazed and somewhat disgusted by this whole thing. Local people have repeatedly complained to Croydon Council. they cannot fathom the reasoning (they don't seem to provide any) for this place being allowed to continue its fraudulent business under the guise of Hotel, and not the Doss house it is.

Living locally to it for several years, I have never seen anyone leave the place who was not obviously a drunk, or drop out staying there what appears to be for the duration. That is not to be disrespectful, just truthful.

Its location is the main problem though - even bigger than the losses I have read about on this blogup. As some of you may have noticed, the place backs onto a local primary school!! It is even within 100m of a Day Nursey on the corner of Normanton and Croham roads.

Just cannot for the life of me think why such a place would be allowed to exist by the council in that location. I am intrigued as to any thoughts anyone might have on this.

Suffice to reiterate the comments of these pages. Please Please please stay away from the Normanton park "Hotel".

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank El13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limbo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2009

As several people have said the website photo of the hotel is a little out of date.
Pulling up at the hotel we were greeted by the site of 2 rotton austin maxis rusting away peacefully in the front yard, and one of them was road taxed this we thought should be a sign of what to expect and it certainly was the reception area was full of old pictures old dying plants and a unering sense of death, the bedroom shared a radiator with the bathroom none of the electrical items had been tested since the great war the bed was damp and the furniture had the look of being pulled out of a skip in a thunderstorm.
after staying the night rocking back and forth on the edge of the bed screaming GOD WHAT HAVE I DONE TO DESERVE THIS we managed to escape its evil clutches and arrive for our meeting looking dishevelled and smelling slightly damp.
Even Ray Mears couldnt survive this place for 2 nights!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank vincentkarloff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Croydon hotels
0.7 km away
South Park Hotel
South Park Hotel
#17 of 24 in Croydon
86 reviews
1.3 km away
Travelodge South Croydon
Travelodge South Croydon
#16 of 24 in Croydon
113 reviews
2.0 km away
Jurys Inn London Croydon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Tulsi Croydon Aparthotel
Tulsi Croydon Aparthotel
#20 of 24 in Croydon
28 reviews
1.8 km away
Premier Inn London Croydon (Purley A23) Hotel
1.9 km away
Travelodge Croydon Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normanton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normanton Park Hotel

Property: Normanton Park Hotel
Address: 34-36 Normanton Road, Croydon CR2 7AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Croydon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Croydon
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Normanton Park Croydon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing