We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for those with a Nut Allergy, Ignorant Staff.”
Review of Roosters Piri Piri

Roosters Piri Piri
Ranked #273 of 545 Restaurants in Croydon
Price range: US$4 - US$13
Description: Roosters Piri Piri are a chain of casual dining and takeaway restaurants. They specialise in thier own spicy grilled Piri Piri chicken, but also serve gourmet burgers, grilled spec
Restaurant details
Description: Roosters Piri Piri are a chain of casual dining and takeaway restaurants. They specialise in thier own spicy grilled Piri Piri chicken, but also serve gourmet burgers, grilled spec
Reviewed 8 September 2018

Despite the menu stating 'Nut Free' on many of their dishes, the staff at Croydon could not guarantee the meals were nut free and hence I could not eat at this restaurant.
Restaurants and takeaways across Europe are required by law to tell customers if their food contains ingredients known to trigger allergies.
Surly if your menu clearly has :Nut Free; stated on it, I would expect to be able to eat this meal at Roosters, but the staff could not comprehend, that by saying ' they cant guarantee the meal is not nut free', is actually a contradiction to what they have on their menu. The staff found it very difficult to see my point of view and they were not at all helpful.
If allergy advice is not clearly given, the Food Standards Agency says there need to be clear signs about where it can be obtained.
Lindsey McManus, from Allergy UK, said: "We hope that restaurants will see the advantage of going this extra mile as it offers huge benefits to the allergic customer and this will only encourage business.
The staff at croydon Roosters were not prepared to 'going this extra mile'

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank shirley2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 12 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

£23 for a double chicken wrap, wedges and a double chicken pitta with fries. Two soft drinks.
Food freshly cooked and very tasty. Medium spice slightly hotter than Nando's medium. Bright and clean. Staff friendly. Pitta difficult to eat as so much chicken so wraps easier to eat. Drinks on the small size.

But please get rid of the plastic straws and cups with plastic lids. Please get rid of tiny sachets of mayo and ketchup; we needed to use eight. We are all trying to go sustainable and this is going totally the opposite way.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank ShariWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

A variety of wraps and salad served here.. Stopped here during lunch time. Very friendly staff. However, the place started getting crowded and there were limited seats available.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Charmaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

dead customer service, main guy behind the till ignored me for like 5min while fulfilling internet orders. Didn't acknowledge I was there or say 'be with you in a minute', not even crack a smile.

I waited patiently, even the guy before me was about to leave he was waiting so long for his order. I eventually ordered and wanted to come back. Guy said please come in 5min it'll be ready....guess what I came back about 8min later and I had to wait another 8-10min for the order. Was on the verge of saying something but kept shut. They never once apologised or explained the delay. Main guy from before still fulfilling orders and chucking bags to customers no smile no nothing.

Uber driver next to me also getting impatient saying they had gone over the quoted time for delivery.

I was buying food for a guest and never tasted the food, for all I know was probably good but customer service and slow fulfilment put me right off. If you don't mind waiting long for your food this is the place for you.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jehad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018

Whenever we come here the staff are always friendly and helpful, and the food is always fresh and tasty. There is a wide range of options on the menu, all of which taste great. They do some good meal deals, which are excellent value for money. Would definitely recommend this roosters to all.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MP2816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roosters Piri Piri also viewed

Croydon, Greater London
Thornton Heath, Croydon
 
Croydon, Greater London
Croydon, Greater London
 

Been to Roosters Piri Piri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing