We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place...but at a price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bagshot
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great place...but at a price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

I stayed here as part of a very large group of business people at the start of October 2011.

You can understand why top club and international sports teams stay here as the place has fantastic facilities with extensive grounds.

The food was good and service OK, if at times a little slow (and, perhaps, surly?). I did get a sense at one point that while the hotel was happy to take the money they felt that a big group of, at times loud, guests was a bit of an inconvenience - though given my comment above about sports teams I'd have thought they were well used to a demanding clientele.

I had a large room that was well-appointed (it should have been for £400 per night) though the decor was not to my taste, being done in the style befitting an Edwardian gentleman.

Overall, this is high-end country house hotel that luxuriates in its reputation. Is it worth the money? Probably not if you're paying yourself but if someone else is then enjoy....

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Probus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,278
    375
    176
    77
    31
See reviews for
246
1,007
29
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

This is the most amazing hote. Rooms are beautifully presented with excellent bathroom and shower plus all the facilities you would need. The staff were so helpful. The spa is absolutely amazing and the treatments superb. We also ate in the brazzerie and the food was wonderful. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank p0ppy021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

The rooms at Pennyhill are a mixture of grand but small in the main house and travel lodge with an apricot colour scheme in the purpose built parts. Comfortable but not 5 star. Overall we have found the staff to be pretty rude. In our first room the heating was stuck on and it was roasting hot. The customer liaison lady told us that she thought the heat was fine! Eventually they moved us but it wasn't gracious. At £400 for the night, I would really expect gracious... Overall the spa makes this a lovely place to come but I think they are charging central London prices without the justification for it.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mulderandscull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PennyhillPark, Manager at Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Thank you for your feedback.

I am genuinely sorry for the uncomfortably hot room when you arrived however was pleased to see we managed to move you to a different location with a cooler room. I would completely agree that this situation should have been dealt with seamless and graciously and I am sorry you felt this was not the case.

Whenever you find a moment I would be delighted to discuss your experience further.

Thank you and with warmest regards,

Michael Voigt
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We visited on the Sunday night spa sleep over where we had dinner in the brasserie, breakfast, and an hours treatment as well as accommodation for the night. The room was in the main house and although it was mildly chintzy, the shower and bathroom were massive and well equipped and the super kingsize bed was surprisingly comfortable. The pillows and duvets were soft and you could ask for fresh milk for tea, etc etc. to make the best of the comfortable stay. However, the spa was the most impressive feature. It was so very nice! The ballroom pool with underwater music was so inviting and the place was not overrun like so many spas can be. The outdoor thermal spa pools were so inviting and the spa changing rooms were an absolute pleasure to be in. I would highly recommend this package to anyone who wants some rest, relaxation and good food. The only thing that slightly let it down was breakfast - one of those help yourself buffets which are never as nice as freshly served food.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GralindaSWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

My wife and I were invited to a wedding at the pennyhill last year and when we saw the price of the place, we nearly decline the invitation. After reading a few reviews we decided to go and we're so pleased we did. We had a room in the lovely main building, right on the top floor. The room was fantastic, we were in a converted loft space, all with exposed beams it was so nice. Going through all the info and bumph they give you, I noticed that they even had a menu for the pillows. That's what I call attention to detail. Dinner was great if a little expensive. Went to the lovely wedding, then went to the spa on the Sunday for massage etc. the spa is a real gem, stunning place! The swim out, outside pools were great, especially on a crisp morning when the steam is rising from the pools into the morning air, Heaven! In all, one of the best weekends we've ever had in the 20 years my wife and I have had, all Thanks to Pennyhill Park. 9.9 as nothing can be Perfect, but close.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graysautos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bagshot
13.3 km away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
16.6 km away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,446 reviews
14.9 km away
The Runnymede on Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
2.2 km away
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
12.7 km away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa

Property: Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Address: London Road, Bagshot GU19 5EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Bagshot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bagshot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:5 star — Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pennyhill Park is a magnificent country house hotel in Bagshot, Surrey, set amongst 123 acres of gardens and parkland including a 9 hole golf course. This five-star luxury hotel offers everything from unmatchable luxury spa breaks and treatments, afternoon tea in the Ascot Bar, lunch and dinner in The Brasserie and is a perfect venue for weddings, conferences and special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pennyhill Park Hotel And The Bagshot
Pennyhill Park Hotel And Country
Pennyhill Park, An Exclusive Hotel & Spa Bagshot, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing