We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (474)
Filter reviews
474 results
Traveller rating
255
118
55
31
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
255
118
55
31
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea the river drawing room scones bread and butter pudding country house hotel ran like clockwork perfect wedding venue wedding reception french doors hospitality tray bride and groom bridal suite dinner menu next morning lovely grounds thursday night
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 474 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

My partner and I dined on Thursday night to celebrate a special occasion and had a fantastic evening. The hotel is so beautiful. The restaurant is in The Orangery, a beautiful conservatory and the atmosphere was just right.
My partner had the duck & orange pate to start then a sea bass in saffron sauce. I had chargrilled vegetables followed by one of the all time best fillet steaks that I’ve ever had! It just melted in the mouth!
Thank you to everyone at The Dovecliff, we cannot wait to return soon.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Shaun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

Hotel very good. Bedrooms well equipped tea coffee making facilities. Very good bathroom with shower and toiletries supplied. Bed extremely comfortable spotlessly clean my only gripe bedrooms could have had some air conditioning. Breakfast very good served in lovely surroundings. Staff extremely helpful and very friendly have recommended this hotel to friends.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank LAW652014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

Hotel lovely, long drive, beautiful grounds. Beds very comfortable and our room (number11) lovely and large. Very clean. Housekeeping staff lovely. Breakfast mixed-cereals and fruit unappetising but haddock and poached egg beautifully cooked. Toasted bread not nice. Dining room very nice with lovely views to the gardens. Nice walks through the grounds.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ClareofTralee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

Arrived at the Dovecliff Hall Hotel to be greeted with a big smile by Rachel. Lovely room on the first floor, absolutely massive, tall ceilings, sash windows with shutters. Very well decorated and equipped (tea, coffee and water, hairdryer, toiletries). Bed was massive, and comfortable, slept really well. Bathroom fully equipped and again lots of space. Had a drink on the terrace in the evening, view was lovely and it is so quiet, all you can hear is the river nearby.
Breakfast was very good, lots of choice and extremely well cooked. Went for a lovely walk in the grounds after breakfast. They have a walk alongside the river. The orchard was lovely and all the trees had a wooden sign by the saying when the fruit was best to be eaten and ‘Please help yourself” - really lovely touches.
The staff here were all very helpful, always with a smile on their faces. Really enjoyed the stay.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank ChrisFit1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

We were debating as to whether to give the Excellent Rating or Just Very Good or just Good
We Decided to give this Hotel a Five for excellent. The reason for the debate was this.
It is Listed as a Dog Friendly Hotel.......We would class it as Pets Allowed as the Past two Hotels we stayed in the Pooch was allowed every where in in the Hotel, except of course the Restaurant .Our Daughter and her pooch stayed in the room next door and then we compared rooms on the last day it was noticed that her room was a bit dated and needed a bit of TLC. She worked for Warner Leisure so is up to speed on decor and Interior Design is high on her agenda . Our Room however was absolutely spot on......Could not fault it it any way. As regards the Pooch...It was lucky the weather was kind and warm with no rain or wind because if it had of been inclement or cold then we would be leaving a Two to Three Rating because The Dog would have been confined to barracks as it was very limited where we could go with her in the Hotel Especially for eating as we had to sit outside on the Patio to eat...
When we arrived on the First Day and Drove up the long drive it was very impressive as was the building which appeared before us. Plenty of parking available . We had paid extra for an early check in Ouch! But we were received at Reception very pleasantly and everything was explained in short but Good detail,,, Our Room was on the ground floor with Windows that opened up to access the garden with a barrier of Rosa Ballerina Pink Roses which in turn gave way to a view towards the River and weir.Very Nice indeed.
It was lovely sitting there watching to two Herons coming home to roost every evening and it was quiet and peaceful.The Staff were all outstanding and eager to please So yes Taking the weather into consideration and everything else It was a Thumbs up. from us all Even the Pooch gave a paws up for the lovely grounds. Thanks Guys

Room Tip: Would imagine the Second Floor rooms would give a better view
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank CUMBRIAVIEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews