We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Queue a rama”
Review of Alton Towers

Alton Towers
Book In Advance
More Info
US$56.20*
and up
Alton Towers Resort Admission Ticket with Meal...
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Alton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Escape to the fantabulous world of the Alton Towers Resort - there's so much going on, the fun never stops! England's largest theme park offers 500 acres of attractions and rides the whole family can enjoy including X-Sector, Forbidden Valley, Dark Forest, Gloomy Wood, Katanga Canyon and CBeebies Land!
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

If you like queuing to get in, then queuing to park, then a 45 min walk to the entrance, then queuing to enter for anything up to 2 hours, followed by approximately 1 - 2 hours queuing for each ride then this is the place for you. Absolutely outrageously poor service. If you try to get onto the wicker man opened in 2018 I suspect you will die of old age before getting anywhere near the front of the queue. Everything is overpriced, except the al a carte restaurant, which was reasonable.

9  Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonTowersCS, Customer Services at Alton Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Hi Bill,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your visit to our Resort.

I can see your visit was disrupted by queues, we'd like to apologise for this and the inconvenience it has caused.

We're glad to see you thought our Al a carte restaurant was reasonably priced, however disappointed you found the rest of the Resort to be overpriced.

Thanks once again for your feedback.

Alton Towers Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15,517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"theme park"
in 1,579 reviews
"cbeebies land"
in 1,268 reviews
"fast track tickets"
in 297 reviews
"big rides"
in 928 reviews
"sky ride"
in 300 reviews
"sonic spinball"
in 198 reviews
"nemesis sub terra"
in 247 reviews
"queue times"
in 616 reviews
"ice age"
in 274 reviews
"runaway train"
in 195 reviews
"log flume"
in 448 reviews
"thorpe park"
in 299 reviews
"free tickets"
in 171 reviews
"merlin pass"
in 160 reviews
"end of the day"
in 330 reviews
"longest queue"
in 174 reviews
"main rides"
in 209 reviews
Filter

1,630 - 1,634 of 15,524 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

It seems that the new "Fastpasses" (singular, Bronze, Silver, Gold, Platinum), are affecting the stated queue times for each ride by Alton Towers. Whether it is stated by sign posts in the queue, digitally or on a Alton Towers App for a map on your mobile phone. The simple truth is, is that it is guess work, because no one can tell how many fast passers are going to want to ride that ride whilst you are waiting in a queue.
This, is causing various problems and could be seen as a health and safety issue. People will come to realise that wasting time in queues is not value for money and that entertainment can be found for better value elsewhere.

5  Thank Itaintalfhotmumagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonTowersCS, Customer Services at Alton Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear itaintalfhotmumagain,

Thank you for taking the time to review Alton Towers Resort on Trip Advisor.

We were sorry to hear that there were aspects of your visit that proved to cause issues throughout your day – Rest assured that we are very grateful for all feedback and will act upon such, as it allows us to ensure that we're delivering the most amazing experiences to every single guest who visits us.

Your comments have been duly noted and we will use your feedback to improve the guest experience as part of an ongoing review.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Wishes,

Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Yesterday was the worse experience of Alton Towers. I accept that queues are going to be long during school holidays but to only get on 3 rides as they all kept breaking down is unacceptable. All 3 rides broke down which resulted to an extra 40 minute wait each time. Therefore, we couldn't get on any other rides that day. We queued for Rita at the end of the day. We got to the front for it to then break down and be told it wont re-open. What a waste of 40 minutes as we could have queued for a different ride.

We then went to complain to a member of staff and couldn't find anyone around the park. We got to the entrance to see the queue to talk to someone was as long as it was to get into the park (it took an hour to get our tickets). We didn't want to queue anymore so we left.

I am extremely upset about my experience as I've always loved Alton Towers.

The rides are no longer reliable as they are constantly breaking down.

Don't waste your time or money to go to Alton Towers.

7  Thank MissPaveley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonTowersCS, Customer Services at Alton Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear MissPaveley,

Thank you for taking the time to review Alton Towers Resort on Trip Advisor.

We were sorry to hear that there were aspects of your visit that proved to cause issues throughout your day – Rest assured that we are very grateful for all feedback and will act upon such, as it allows us to ensure that we're delivering the most amazing experiences to every single guest who visits us.

Your comments have been duly noted and we will use your feedback to improve the guest experience as part of an ongoing review.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Wishes,

Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We planned a trip yesterday to Alton Towers for the first time! A family of 5 and as you can imagine it wasn’t cheap! We are actually on holiday in Blackpool but rather than go to the pleasure beach for the second time in a year we chose to travel 2 hours to Alton Towers as the kids have wanted to visit for a while! What a huge mistake we made! Never have we been so disappointed, let down and may as well have thrown our money away. We got up early to arrive on opening times we had to queue one hour just to get onto the park, this took us to after 11am, we then parked miles away from the park and found the monorail didnt work so we then had to walk at least 25 mins to get to the gates! A very long way for little people. By the time we got actual entry to the park it was nearly 12! That was alot of time off our day! The entrance was carnage there was people everywhere and no organiation to the point it was unsafe. My older children went to ride the Smiler first, they queued for over an hour and it then broke down and they were stuck for another hour! Over two hours on one ride and my smallest daughter spent 1.5 hours queuing for a treetop ride in cbeebies land! There was distressed kids, they couldnt wait that long they couldnt even stand for so long. The experience was awful! After all this it was nearly 2pm! Most of the day gone! The children managed two more rides and these were the small rides you would find on a fairground but still nearly an hours wait! 3 rides after 4 hours travel in total and a whole lot of money spent! The kids were exhausted and so disappointed! The older two could not ride oblivion as it was broken and they went to the wickerman in the afternoon to also find it had broken down!
Was it possible to find anyone to complain? No!! All the excuses made were it was the fault of the sunny weather! They then decided to extend opening to 6pm but did not actually advertise this but relied on word of mouth, most kids and families were so fed up of the day they chose to leave anyway. I will not return to this park again, the customer service and organisation is the worst ive ever seen. The kids had the worst day ever, majority of the rides are breaking down which is concerning. Pleasure beach all the way for us from now, wish we had never wasted our day at Alton Towers, save your money folks. I understand its the easter hols but Alton Towers should have been ready to cope, it seems they have ruined alot of families treasured day out!

8  Thank Lisaholmes72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonTowersCS, Customer Services at Alton Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Lisaholmes72,

Thank you for taking the time to review Alton Towers Resort on Trip Advisor.

We were sorry to hear that there were aspects of your visit that proved to cause issues throughout your day – Rest assured that we are very grateful for all feedback and will act upon such, as it allows us to ensure that we're delivering the most amazing experiences to every single guest who visits us.

Your comments have been duly noted and we will use your feedback to improve the guest experience as part of an ongoing review.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Wishes,

Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Haven't been to Alton towers for a few years .... there is no Charlie and the chocolate factory ride, ice age or log flume.... there is now the wicker man... which is ace.... Rita is closed if it rains !!! Nemesis was closed on one day then Oblivion was closed on another day??? I think they rotate the big rides for closure to save on costs ?? When it rains the place goes into melt down .... we live in the uk what are the chances of rain ???!!?!?! The spinner ball ride ( used to be sonic) only allows two riders per car when it's drizzling so the queue was ridiculous as it should be four per car!!! But no one came to tell people this in the queue!!! The app is rubbish!! The wait times aren't updated and says rides are closed when there not... duel closed but it wasn't and the staff even said it's rubbish!! The times advertised at the front of rides are lies!!! Ignore then 10 minutes for smiler was 60!! Why not have a timer on a rider from joining the queue which then gets recorded when they reach the start of the ride???
Like the hotels money needs to be spent making this park more appealing... the spooky forest things don't work... the staff are not great through out the park!! The CEO needs to visit Disney Orlando and see what is seriously is lacking in Alton towers!!!
What a rip off.....

2  Thank Orbine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonTowersCS, Customer Services at Alton Towers, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Orbine,

Thank you for taking the time to review Alton Towers Resort on Trip Advisor.

We were sorry to hear that there were aspects of your visit that proved to cause issues throughout your day – Rest assured that we are very grateful for all feedback and will act upon such, as it allows us to ensure that we're delivering the most amazing experiences to every single guest who visits us.

Your comments have been duly noted and we will use your feedback to improve the guest experience as part of an ongoing review.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Wishes,

Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alton Towers also viewed

 
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
Alton, Staffordshire
 

Been to Alton Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing