We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
217
36
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
217
36
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews decanter of sherry hers basins cream tea a complimentary room upgrade four poster bed shoe cleaning kit warmest of welcomes lovely extras biscuits warm welcome home made cakes quantock hills large garden attending a wedding on arrival little extras wet room
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 254 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Everything was perfect - we were warmly greeted and offered tea or coffee and a choice of cake which we had in the beautiful garden. Our rooms were great with tasteful decor and well equipped bathrooms. The whole place is well run and you are made to feel at home. The outdoor swimming pool is heated and we used it twice. Breakfast is just stunning - a huge choice of delightful things and difficult to choose. We shall definitely go again!

Date of stay: August 2016
Thank Renate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016

Room four was the Italian room.gorgeous. Extremely comfortable bed, spacious room and ensuite with sofa to sit on. Decor very plush and well maintained. Complimentary sherry and water. Sparkling bathroom with strong shower. Lovely views overlooking rolling fields.
Enjoyed a swim in the nice outdoor heated pool in four acres of land. Dressing gowns and poolside towels available.
Food in the restaurant was delicious. Every course was perfect for both my husband and I. Breakfast too was of a high standard..yummy porridge and kippers! All very fresh. Service was excellent throughout. Difficult to fault.

Room tip: Italian room was lovely at the front of hotel overlooking the road and fields
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank helen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

We booked in at the "Castle of comfort" country house when attending a family wedding nearby and what a find. The house is beautiful clean and well kept at the same time it retains it's history and character. It has lovely leaded Windows throughout. The food is outstanding and makes it unnecessary to go anywhere else to eat! There is an outdoor heated pool which is open from May to September so for families with children it is ideal. 'The owner and staff are very welcoming, friendly people who make you feel at home.
I would definitely recommend it and look forward to returning in the future.

Date of stay: August 2016
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Parts of this small hotel are over 400 years old but inside its bang up to date. The C of C is owned/managed by Carol & Julie, with Carol doing a fantastic job as 'Chefette' and Julie running front of house, plus. From arrival to departure (whatever the length of stay), the whole atmosphere is welcoming and friendly with nothing being too much trouble for any member of staff. (btw, there isn't one male member of staff to be seen - its all women power!). The hotel is well placed for both country & coast though rather too close to the main A39 for absolute quiet. At the rear of the property its a delight, and (weather permitting) we loved our afternoon teas with home-baked cakes on the upper terrace. The place was spotless inside and bedrooms appear to be well appointed and with every mod con. We found the whole experience to be relaxing on the whole and if one word sums up this really comfortable hotel, it would be 'homely'. Wouldn't hesitate to revisit.

Room tip: Rooms overlooking garden at rear are quieter.
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swannee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Lovely afternoon spent having a very tasty afternoon tea with friends. Good selection of sandwiches with yummy cakes to follow. Also a selection of fruit teas for friends that wanted something a little different. Beautiful garden to sit in and great service. Highly recommend. Will return for sure.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank TrippleRRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews