We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Brilliant hosts, a little gem.”
Review of Dolffanog Fach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dolffanog Fach
Ranked #2 of 5 Talyllyn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We stayed here for 1 night to break up our journey south. Upon arrival we were greeted by Simon who gave us a great welcome and fired up the sauna for us. We stayed in Carroll which had great views of Cader Idris, which we went for a walk up the following day. Dinner was a lovely intimate affair and Liz cooked an amazing chicken with Mediterranean vegetables. We took our own booze and Liz noticed Stacey was drinking Gin and mentioned a local distiller which was worth a visit. A great bit of local knowledge and a perfect personal touch to the whole stay. A fantastic retreat for a quiet stay with the dog.

Room Tip: We stayed in Carroll which is en-suite with great views of the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2017

Well what a fantastic place this is! Liz and Simon are the perfect hosts!, fantastic food! immaculate B and B , the location is beautiful very peaceful and quiet, from the many BandBs we have stayed in this one is by far the best, Liz and Simon made our stay perfect, a place now we will always return to!! many many thanks Neil and lisa.

Room Tip: very peaceful and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neil615murphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz D, Owner at Dolffanog Fach, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Hi Neil and Lisa,
Thank you so much for your lovely review - we are very pleased that your honeymoon was fantastic and that you loved the B&B. It was an absolute pleasure to meet you both and we cant wait to welcome you back!

Liz and Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Simon and Liz are perfect host who received us with a warm welcome into their cosy b&b, set in a superb location for a romantic getaway or an active break, (we did both) the room was clean and had everything we needed and more, we made use of the sauna which after a day walking was just perfect to relax those aching muscles, the food was faultless, breakfast was so filling, a great value packed lunch, and thought inspiring evening meal, the only thing I can say let them down, is the sign outside, the one advising of sharp turn in the road ahead, really did obscure the views (wink wink, simon liz and the sheep will understand this), will return again to this home from home, jordi and mandy

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jordi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Absolutely loved this place and the B and B, made to feel very welcome, we will be returning a lovely place to stay. We took our dog and he was made very welcome too. We had an evening meal one night which was delicious and breakfast was very good each morning. We will be returning hopefully soon!! Thank you Zoe, lee, j and Barkley

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Zoe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

Liz & Simon made the five days a wonderful experience, getting away from city life at Dolffanog Fach, in the valleys was a great choice.

Staying in the "Rowling" room was an absolute pleasure, the most peaceful sleep I've had in a very long. The sauna followed by a Jet bath was an absolute treat after hiking up through several of the Cadair Idris trails, which are within a stones throw of the B&B, as well as the Tal-y-llyn Lake walk which is a must, you just have to be careful with the navigation!

Wide variety menu for breakfast made the start to the day that much easier, having vegetarian/vegan as well as several gluten free options for supper cooked by Liz was wonderful.

As requested with the door handle signs my room was serviced each day, with fresh linen, towels, tea (as not a coffee drinker) and finger candy. Being in between two rather large peaks it's expected to not have phone signal or top of the range broadband, this wasn't a problem for me as I knew this before hand when I contacted Liz/Simon, was a bonus when I managed to connect briefly!

A perfect choice recommended to me by another couple who visited, if you want to relax and enjoy a green scene, I would recommend!

Room Tip: Rowling has a Jet bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talyllyn
0 km away
Dolffanog Fawr
Dolffanog Fawr
#1 of 1 in Talyllyn
159 reviews
2 km away
The Old Rectory on the Lake
1.9 km away
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
#3 of 5 in Talyllyn
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
8 km away
Dolgun Uchaf  B & B
Dolgun Uchaf B & B
#13 of 34 in Dolgellau
138 reviews
10.9 km away
Afon Rhaiadr Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolffanog Fach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolffanog Fach

Address: Talyllyn | Snowdonia, Talyllyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Talyllyn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Talyllyn
Price Range: €85 - €112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dolffanog Fach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simon and Liz would love to welcome you to Dolffanog Fach. Our aim is to provide the warm and friendly welcome of a traditional B&B with the standards and special touches you would expect from a boutique hotel. Unlike most B&Bs we do not "live in", we have a little cottage just next door so you don't need to feel as though you are staying in someone's home. We have 4 lovely double bedrooms, a sitting room with a log fire and a beautiful dining room with a slate floor and wood burning stove. Our dining room is big enough to accommodate individual tables for each guests but small enough to be cosy and allow you to chat to other guests if you wish. We have a large garden that you are welcome to explore - including a full vegetable garden! We also have a Finnish Sauna which is just perfect after a long day's hike or cycle in our astonishingly beautiful surroundings. If you are a walker or mountain biker then we can offer you our "Boots & Bikes" Room. Secure storage for your bikes, boots, helmets and clothes and we can also offer laundry facilities. Our breakfasts are designed to really set you up for the day and also offer plenty of variety if you are staying for more than a few days. You could stay for a week and have a different breakfast every day! We really want to offer our guests value for money and put a lot of effort into the little things, the biscuits in the rooms are homemade and freshly baked, the milk is fresh and the coffee is ground and there are lots of other little touches that guests always comment on and say how much they make a difference. Children of any age are more than welcome and we also welcome dogs and they are allowed in the rooms and sitting room, we don't permit them in the dining room but you are welcome to leave them in the bedrooms while you eat. We hope you'll come and stay with us, we can promise you a friendly welcome, lovely rooms, delicious food, glorious surroundings and a truly relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Dolffanog Fach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing