We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food!”
Reviewed 27 April 2008

We love this hotel and are regular visitors. The food is fantastic and never fails to impress us and we look forward each evening to the delicious menu choices!

The staff are very friendly and helpful and the whole atmosphere is truly relaxing and welcoming

The views from the hotel are quite outstanding. The walking is excellent and you never need move the car all weekend. The dogs come home exhausted!

Every time we leave this hotel we look forward to when we can return again! We have also introduced members of the family to this hotel and now it is on their list of 'favourite places to stay' !!

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — Radio provision and better light provision in some rooms as a little on dark side
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdecag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    104
    24
    4
    2
See reviews for
38
424
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2008

We stayed in the Pen-y-Dyffryn hotel over a weekend and sadly found the experience all-too average.

Upon arrival, the room was very chilly and seemed under-equipped for the price we paid. Furthermore, although we found the bathroom usable, anyone with mobility issues or back problems would undoubtedly have struggled.

In addition, the steps leading to the outer buildings were treacherous in the wet.

The food really was quite superb and redeemed the place somewhat; however, if we had not elected to eat at the hotel we would have been very upset.

Although the location was impressive, particularly the woodland just down the road, we found it incredibly difficult to explore the surrounding area without a car - buses are apparently non-existent and taxis were overly expensive.

Finally, the bar was understocked, and when we did order a few drinks, prices were extortionate.

The hotel was overall pleasant, and the staff friendly, but for the price (£200+ between the two of us for one night), we were disappointed.

  • Liked — Restaurant / quality of food.
  • Disliked — Poor value.
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Myrmidon_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2008

We only managed a one-night break and I so wish it could have been longer. We stayed midweek in the Superior Room and thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

The room itself is well equiped and very spacious - a perfect place to relax. It was clean and well stocked and a very welcoming environment.

The food on offer is also of a high quality - and an extensive wine-list will suit almost any palate. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our meals which were served by the friendly and helpful staff.

It's not cheap but we would definitely stay there again as we had a great time.

  • Liked — The food was excellent and mostly organic.
  • Disliked — The choice of newspaper was very limited.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SpikeyMikey76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2008

If you like peace and quiet this is the place for you.Comfortable bedrooms with all the facilities you need for a short stay.Above average food served in a pleasant dining room by attentive and friendly staff.We just felt that if we spoke in any more than a whisper some of the other guests might have had a heart attack!!

  • Liked — Friendly staff.
  • Disliked — Too quiet.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lhirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2007

We were only able to stay at Pen-y-Dyffryn for one night but will return. From the moment we walked into reception to register until the time we checked out, we were made to feel 'special' and very welcomed at this 12 bedroom country house hotel on the border of Shropshire and Wales. Our evening meal (4 courses) was one of the best we have had for a long time; beautifully prepared and presented. There are two comfortable lounges where you can relax before and after a meal, and in reception a folder of local walks from the hotel to help you plan the next day. Folders in the rooms give lots of other ideas for places to visit, as does a sheet which is presented with your breakfast menu. A nice touch is that the room folder also lists the (mainly local) suppliers of food for the hotel. Our room was in the Coach House and was very private, quiet and comfortable. You have your own patio table and chairs which must be nice weather permitting! This is not a cheap hotel, but you get what you pay for; value for money and real quality. The (mainly young) staff were without exception, excellent.

  • Liked — The friendliness of the Hunter family and their staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Gr1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswestry
6.4 km away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
449 reviews
4.8 km away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#5 of 6 in Oswestry
413 reviews
28.2 km away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,256 reviews
31.1 km away
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
Lion + Pheasant Hotel
#2 of 16 in Shrewsbury
621 reviews
22.4 km away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel

Property: Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Address: Rhydycroesau | Oswestry, Oswestry SY10 7JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway between Shrewsbury and Chester this beautiful silver-stone Georgian rectory is set in stunning hill scenery. In five acres of grounds, the Hotel offers unobtrusive hospitality, first-class food and an easy-going atmosphere guaranteeing that "away-from-it-all" feeling. Some bedrooms have private patios others have spa baths. Good Hotel Guide Country Hotel of the Year and Johansens Best Value Award. Two AA Food Rosettes. Great walking from the front door &€“ close Powis Castle and Erdigg (N.T.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel Oswestry, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing