We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is like visiting old friends in their country home.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Pen-y-Dryffryn is a lovely square stone-built house of comfortable size, overlooking a delightful quiet green valley. You enter and the sweet smell of the log fire beckons you to an armchair, There are papers to read, and a tray of tea and scones arrives with a smile from friendly receptionist. You may also see the resident dogs around, and many guests bring their own.

Because it was a Victorian vicarage, the rooms differ in size, and some are a short walk across well-tended gardens, with their own terrace. However, we expect that all rooms are comfortable, and ours was very convenient for a dog, with french windows.

The restaurant has a more modern decor, and the delicious cuisine reflects this, but you can still enjoy a traditional breakfast. It is the sort of place where guests talk to each other, and this reflects the easy amosphere created and sustained by the resident husband and wife owners.

It is not cheap, but the best never is.

Room Tip: The website shows the variety of rooms, but it is just as simple to telephone and ask for what you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ComfortCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

424 - 428 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2011

Spent one weekend night at Pen-y-Dyffryn in November. In line with many/all of the reviewers of this hotel, we thought the food was very good indeed, with the standard of the breakfast being just as good as the dinner. The staff are excellent and always on hand and the idea of tea and scone on arrival is a nice touch. Sadly, our room was something of a let down. The first room we were shown to was nice enough, if a little small, but with only a queen-sized bed, not really what we wanted. We asked if a room with a larger bed was available and were given The Terrace Room which indeed does have a king/two singles. The beds themselves were very comfortable, but the room was small and really of the standard of a tired B&B at a much lower price.
Now we did book last minute and maybe the rate was discounted a little but we parted with £200 for one night's dinner bed and breakfast for 2 and call me old fashioned (or even a miser) but by my way of thinking, I expected a little better.
Having said that, the overall experience was very good and we would certainly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashlessinseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Spent a lovely weekend here. Food superb as ever. We came away feeling very relaxed and very spoilt. We spent most of our time walking (no need to take the car out!) and had a relaxing afternoon tea in front of the log fire on our return. The staff here are so lovely and always cheerful and welcoming. This was a joint birthday weekend away for us and away from our children and gave us a real chance to unwind. Whenever we leave here we are looking/planning for when we can come again as we so love it here so much. We have stayed several times and yet we always want to return and have never want to go anywhere else. You are guaranteed a relaxing stay and superb food here and we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pdecag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Spent a lovely long weekend in the coach house. Food fantasitc, just the place to go to wind down. Very relaxing. It is also in a lovely area with plenty of walks from the front door. Want to go back for more of the same!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

A lovely hotel in a picturesque area. We had a lovely room, "The Rectors room" looking out over the countryside. It was spotless and the bed was comfortable and very clean as was the shower and bath area. Great food and very friendly staff. Would definitely return

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pipernotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswestry
6.4 km away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
467 reviews
28.2 km away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
4.8 km away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#5 of 6 in Oswestry
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,314 reviews
8.8 km away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#2 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
433 reviews
22.4 km away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel

Address: Rhydycroesau | Oswestry, Oswestry SY10 7JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Price Range: €141 - €222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway between Shrewsbury and Chester this beautiful silver-stone Georgian rectory is set in stunning hill scenery. In five acres of grounds, the Hotel offers unobtrusive hospitality, first-class food and an easy-going atmosphere guaranteeing that "away-from-it-all" feeling. Some bedrooms have private patios others have spa baths. Good Hotel Guide Country Hotel of the Year and Johansens Best Value Award. Two AA Food Rosettes. Great walking from the front door &€“ close Powis Castle and Erdigg (N.T.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel Oswestry, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing