We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveller rating
78
78
55
28
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
78
55
28
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews court room old building four poster bed roast potatoes powerful shower separate shower spacious room good nights sleep special occasion character corridor landlord ales tlc pubs beams
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 263 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2018

Old beams everywhere, lovely leaded windows .. even an opening to a network of very old hidden tunnels ! Staff very friendly and helpful and service quick and food tasty and very reasonably priced. This is no gastro-pub but if you like good plain pub food in a historic pub setting the Old Crown is great.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brizy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, General Manager at Old Crown Coaching Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

Thank you so much for visiting us and a great review, Kind Regards John & Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

I am not one to write overly critical reviews and I realise that I am commenting on someone’s business and livelihood, however I have to say that this hotel is poor. The whole building is run down and in desperate need of refurbishment. My room was depressing and not a place of comfort. In all honesty I cannot recommend The Old Crown Coaching Inn as a place to visit or stay.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
Thank Nieva2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, General Manager at Old Crown Coaching Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

We are so sorry that you did not find our 600-year-old hotel very nice, there are some rooms in need of a refurbishment, we are the 1st to admit this, however, we also have a few very smart rooms and it depends on the price you pay on what room is allocated based on that price, when we are not so busy we do give free up-grades where possible. the rooms are going to be done in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

Stopped off in Faringdon and popped in here for a drink, service was terrible, didn’t smell good inside so had our drinks outside, the lager had a terrible taste to it, wouldn’t recommend visiting here! Won’t be going there again!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank stansfieldj6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, Manager at Old Crown Coaching Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Sorry you did not enjoy your visit. I believe that was the week some local work was going on with the sewage pipes and most of the establishments in the area were having problems. I can not understand the problem with the lager but if you had returned it to the bar we would have only be happy to either refund your money or given you an alternative drink.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed one night and was not quite what we expected. The town was very quiet except for noisy drinkers in the pubs which was a little intimidating. Four poster bed was huge, clean and comfy. Huge towels and powerful shower. We ended up staying in and watching a movie as the town seemed ‘closed’ for the night. The local buses stop just below our window so listened to some interesting conversations into the early hours. It’s a funny town that has seen better days with some interesting shops and businesses. I don’t know what the history is but I hope those who are trying to make a go of it are successful.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Riccyn1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, Manager at Old Crown Coaching Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Thank you for your review. Yes the town does need to be brought back to life, with hopefully new shops coming to the town soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

Very Olde World hotel and bar/restaurant with oodles of untapped potential.

Lunch menu is good and excellent value at about £4.50 for a light meal offering a decent portion.

The bar area really is like something from the Dickensian period, albeit slightly dog eared - but only spoiled by a large wall mounted TV screen. The volume coming from it was blaring and we suspect it was for the benefit of the bar staff located at the furthest point away from it. We asked for the volume to be lowered, which was done without any grumbles.

The bar looked great except for the fact that they had run out of Ales and weren’t due another delivery until the following week - so given that our visit was on a Friday, it left very little choice left for us non lager drinkers over the weekend except for a barrel of Doombar that they put on during our lunch.

Car park at rear is very handy and it has a pleasant courtyard seating area too.

Can’t comment on the rooms other than to say that ‘Reception’ is now managed from the bar and rooms need to be paid for in advance.

All in all, a great little gem in a perfect location that needs some investment.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank scotia001Oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, Manager at Old Crown Coaching Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Thank you for you review. We are aware that some parts of the hotel do require some TLC and we are currently working on having the work done but to keep in character with the old building.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews