We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location for Forestry Gigs at Sherwood Pines”
Review of Dukeries Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dukeries Lodge
Ranked #4 of 6 Edwinstowe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 June 2017

Booked a single room for one night for a Sherwood Pines gig. Think Travelodge for the room but with a decent English breakfast. Everything you need, no frills. The bathroom door didn't shut properly from the outside and I felt uncomfortable sleeping so close to the open bathroom door. Also, it was really very noisy - well after last orders loads of noisy customers in the car park then noise from the main road until the early hours and again from early in the morning. Would use again but would ask for a room at the rear. OK for the price as full English breakfast was included. I couldn't get the WiFi to work in my room.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the rear to avoid the main road traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FoxyLady101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2017

The Hotel staff were generally friendly if not busy. The room was larger than I had expected and was basic but well appointed; nevertheless, the blinds are not suitable for a summers morning (especially at 5am) and the emergency light over the door bathed the room in a lovely green dappled light - not good for sleeping. The food ordered at dinner had seen better days - the fish was dry and the lemon cooked (?). Breakfast was far better: comprehensive and well cooked. The hotel wifi was only available in the bar, certainly not in the room, and the router settings denied email access unless via cloud based products.
The setting of the hotel was lovely, with a walk down the River Maun within 200 yards; and some lovely tea shops within 800 yards. I would recommend the Village Kitchen for their cakes.
The cost was certainly value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

We have booked one of our coach drivers in as the hotel he was staying in outbooked him. When the driver arrived at the hotel he was originally staying in, they found a room for him. It was late when this was arranged and first thing the next morning a lady from Dukeries Lodge phoned and was concerned about him not showing up. I explained the situation and she couldn't have been more helpful and explained what I had to do. The following day she called again to talk through the best way to handle the situation. Although we didnt stay, I found the customer service far beyond most hotels or B&B's. I would reccommend the Dukeries Lodge on their customer service and helpfulness.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

My stay at the establishment in itself was pleasant enough however prior to my visit the cost of the room was pre authorised and held. Upon check in, I paid the amount in full and asked about the held funds. I was advised that this was customary and that it would be released after check in. 2 working days later, the funds were still held and I tried ti call the hotel with no luck. I sent an email query and received a response requesting that I confirm check in date and that funds were released after 3 working days. After 4 working days, the funds were still 'held' so i sent another email enquiry. This time, I received no response. I have no idea when my funds will be released. Communication with the establishment is absolutely shocking! It has completely ruined my entire impression of the trip and based on this I would not be recommending the hotel, which is a shame as I had no issues with the stay itself. I am very upset and disappointed by this matter.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Vanessa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Stayed for 2 nights, small double room which was clean, mattress not good for anyone with a back problem was a standard Spring mattress, shower cubicle was small not much room to move but an OK shower.
Food could have been better very average for a pub, no specials board, fresh cooked would be nicer. Breakfast was the best meal.
Staff very friendly.
Plenty of room for improvement one room could be made into a lounge for guests to use instead of using as a dining area as plenty of room for eating.
Would use again though

Room Tip: Ok for short stays
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edwinstowe
0.6 km away
The Forest Lodge Hotel
The Forest Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Edwinstowe
194 reviews
8.7 km away
Muthu Clumber Park & Hotel and Spa
0.6 km away
Marion's Manor
Marion's Manor
#2 of 6 in Edwinstowe
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.5 km away
The Duke of Wellington Country Inn
0.9 km away
YHA Sherwood Forest
YHA Sherwood Forest
#2 of 2 in Edwinstowe
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukeries Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukeries Lodge

Address: High Street, Edwinstowe NG22 9HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Edwinstowe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Edwinstowe
Price Range: €58 - €93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dukeries Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Description: Having been recently fully renovated, our wonderful 18th-century coaching inn, we are now enjoying sharing this wonderful hotel with you. In the rural countryside village of Edwinstowe, Nottinghamshire, the Dukeries Lodge dates back to the days of highwaymen, when it first provided a comfortable stopover. Our passion has been to retain the traditional character and sense of history – even choosing to keep the creaky floors and wonderful stained glass windows. All our individually styled bedrooms and our Maid Marian suite are admired by everyone. A family-run hotel with a reputation for superb hospitality, long renowned as one of the best loved venues for celebrations of all kinds, we also offer meeting and conference packages. Conveniently located on the border of Nottinghamshire, Lincolnshire & Yorkshire close to the A1, M1, M18 & M62, we are within an hour’s drive from Retford, Doncaster, Leeds, Sheffield and Nottingham. Robin Hood Airport. Traveling Entertainment Sports and Leisure Outdoor AdventureStuff for KidsLove and MarriageHealth and BeautyLiving the High LifeThe `just plain odd` listHotel's Cancellation Policy12 Noon Day Prior to Arrival General PoliciesChildren AcceptedPets AcceptedCheck In on or after - 14:00Check Out prior to - 11:00Parking Info / Road InfoNearest Motorway - A1Parking - On-Site - 100Parking Restrictions - all day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Dukeries Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukeries Hotel Edwinstowe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing