We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again”
Review of Shieldhall

Shieldhall
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morpeth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shieldhall
Ranked #16 of 29 Morpeth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 September 2014

This was our fourth visit to Shieldhall and we always feel as though we are arriving to stay with friends. Sarah, John, Steven ,Celia and the girls make you feel so welcome. The rooms are fabulous - we always request the Elm room for the twin beds. Sarah is such a good cook and John makes a wonderful wine waiter. It is lovely to be able to socialise with the family and to chat about all manner of things. It is also good to be able to meet the other guests before dinner and have drinks together. It is more like a house party than an ordinary B & B. Sarah and John keep up the good work and we hope to see you again next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank meachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

Gosh, what can I say? I will run out of wonderful adjectives. I could perhaps sum up with ...beautiful house, beautiful food and run by beautiful people.
The family that run Shieldhall are delightfully warm, friendly and helpful and the thought and care put into making our stay of three nights so comfortable and welcoming was amazing. The room /en suite was exceptionally well equipped and the food was out of this world...with plenty of home made touches.
I have just one regret...we live over six hours away and therefore will not probably be frequent visitors. Perhaps it's just as well...I might be tempted to move in permanently!!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Lynette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

...property, setting, accommodation, breakfast and, something else which seems more and more to be a rare experience - fabulous, friendly, welcoming hosts.

We were attending a family wedding and had originally booked 1 night's accommodation which I changed to 2. I'm so glad we did. Totally relaxing, and we were able to chill for the whole morning of the wedding without the 'rule' of vacating your room for housekeeping.

Go and stay! We'll certainly be going back, and have already recommended it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montydog M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

This has to be the most tranquil and peaceful place to stay. Beautiful accommodation with amazing hospitality - Sarah & John are very welcoming and friendly looking after their guests every need. All you can want is available in the rooms, variety of tea & coffee, cafeteria and homemade cookies which are lovely & topped up daily. Rooms are extremely cosy & comfortable great beds & bathrooms provided to lounge in. The library is available to use with wifi and breakfast is lovely with crusty homemade bread, homemade marmalade and full English breakfast cooked to perfection - I stayed 4 nights & toured Northumberland easily from here, holy island, Alnwick, bamburgh and all the coast along with the national park - it's so easy to find only 20 miles from airport without going into Newcastle city Centre which is perfect when you don't know your way around but it is easy from the A1 as well - highly recommend to anyone looking to stay in an old farmhouse style accommodation

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We travelled with friends who enjoy the good things of life and we were not disappointed.
Lovely accommodation, great welcome and most enjoyable meals. A good touring base for the Borders (but garages well spaced out in the country), and much to see, some places needing at least a whole day. Will return again..

Room Tip: Choose the wood you prefer! !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Longranger123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morpeth hotels
17.4 km away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
22.1 km away
The Northumberland Arms
The Northumberland Arms
#2 of 29 in Morpeth
203 reviews
17.4 km away
The Morpeth Inn
The Morpeth Inn
#5 of 29 in Morpeth
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 km away
Riverside Guest House
Riverside Guest House
#7 of 29 in Morpeth
119 reviews
27.4 km away
Northumberland Cottage
Northumberland Cottage
#6 of 29 in Morpeth
133 reviews
15.8 km away
Shoulder of Mutton
Shoulder of Mutton
#2 of 2 in Longhorsley
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shieldhall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shieldhall

Address: Wallington, Morpeth NE61 4AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Morpeth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Morpeth
Price Range: €91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious accommodation in recently converted 18thC. farm steading with handcrafted furnishings, original art & antique detail everywhere.Deliciously Aga cooked meals from local & seasonal produce.Fine Wines & Secret BarCentral for the Roman Wall, the Cheviots, Keilder and the coast ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing