We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$181
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$136/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$102
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Morpeth Inn(Morpeth)(Great Value!)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St Mary's Inn(Morpeth)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$178
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shoulder of Mutton(Longhorsley)
US$76
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dyke Neuk Inn(Morpeth)(Great Value!)
US$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
40
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
2
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2012

we wanted a short break travelling in our caterham, we were able to park right outside our room. Our hosts could not have been more welcoming and attentive. we stayed in the oak room the bed was magnificent and so comfortable, the bedding was of a high quality as was everything in the room and bathroom.The breakfasts were delicious and plentiful. We had a 4 course meal one night which was delicious, red pepper and sweet potato soup, duck with mango cream sauce and roasted veg and scottish oats raspberry cream and whiskey dessert, cheese crackers and coffee and mint chocs

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Shieldhall's accommodation is a converted 18th century farm building, which means that from the outside our room looked like the old stables and on the inside was a quality hotel room. All furnishings were of a good quality and modern, the only drawback for me being twin beds. Dinner with the other guests was with a set menu and time, but well done nonetheless. We stayed there as part of the St Oswald's Way walk through Northumberland, and our host picked us up from Kirkwhelpington and dropped us back there the next morning after a nice English breakfast. They also arranged a packed lunch for our walk.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wellhamsrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Stayed for a three night break in half term. We expected good but this was far better. Everything was really good.

This is one of the only places we have stayed where we couldn't suggest things that could be improved. Everything was so good!

As soon as we tried Sarah's food we decided we would eat in every night. We weren't disappointed as the food was excellent.

The opportunity to enjoy a drink with fellow guests was the icing on the cake.

We hope to be back again

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hoodies_sandhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Spent a long weekend here on our first visit. Well worthwhile as it is ideally situated for exploring local countryside or as a stopover on the way to Scotland. Unusually for a B & B they also do evening meals and we ate there each night on Aga cooked chicken, pheasant and duck. No choice of menu and set time but it was useful to meet and talk with other guests.
Not far to Alnwick and the coast for the usual tourist attractions such as Alnwick Gardens and Cragside at Rothbury. We went inland through the lanes to Kielder Water which is worth it for the spectatcular views.
Definitely worth a try for a quiet comfortable break.
Situated just off the A696 on the B6342 near to Wallington Hall National Trust property.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krisholliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We found Shieldhall in Alistair Sawday on the internet and spent one night there en route to Alnwick. We were sorry that we couldn't stay longer, there is so much to see in the area. Our room had a hand carved four poster bed which was the most comfortable bed we have slept in. The farmhouse and outbuildings have been beautifully restored, including a library where we had an aperitif before dinner, served in the dining room in the farmhouse. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanda68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews