We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“caterham trip”
Review of Shieldhall

Shieldhall
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morpeth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shieldhall
Ranked #16 of 29 Morpeth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 April 2012

we wanted a short break travelling in our caterham, we were able to park right outside our room. Our hosts could not have been more welcoming and attentive. we stayed in the oak room the bed was magnificent and so comfortable, the bedding was of a high quality as was everything in the room and bathroom.The breakfasts were delicious and plentiful. We had a 4 course meal one night which was delicious, red pepper and sweet potato soup, duck with mango cream sauce and roasted veg and scottish oats raspberry cream and whiskey dessert, cheese crackers and coffee and mint chocs

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2012

Shieldhall's accommodation is a converted 18th century farm building, which means that from the outside our room looked like the old stables and on the inside was a quality hotel room. All furnishings were of a good quality and modern, the only drawback for me being twin beds. Dinner with the other guests was with a set menu and time, but well done nonetheless. We stayed there as part of the St Oswald's Way walk through Northumberland, and our host picked us up from Kirkwhelpington and dropped us back there the next morning after a nice English breakfast. They also arranged a packed lunch for our walk.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wellhamsrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Stayed for a three night break in half term. We expected good but this was far better. Everything was really good.

This is one of the only places we have stayed where we couldn't suggest things that could be improved. Everything was so good!

As soon as we tried Sarah's food we decided we would eat in every night. We weren't disappointed as the food was excellent.

The opportunity to enjoy a drink with fellow guests was the icing on the cake.

We hope to be back again

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hoodies_sandhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Spent a long weekend here on our first visit. Well worthwhile as it is ideally situated for exploring local countryside or as a stopover on the way to Scotland. Unusually for a B & B they also do evening meals and we ate there each night on Aga cooked chicken, pheasant and duck. No choice of menu and set time but it was useful to meet and talk with other guests.
Not far to Alnwick and the coast for the usual tourist attractions such as Alnwick Gardens and Cragside at Rothbury. We went inland through the lanes to Kielder Water which is worth it for the spectatcular views.
Definitely worth a try for a quiet comfortable break.
Situated just off the A696 on the B6342 near to Wallington Hall National Trust property.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krisholliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We found Shieldhall in Alistair Sawday on the internet and spent one night there en route to Alnwick. We were sorry that we couldn't stay longer, there is so much to see in the area. Our room had a hand carved four poster bed which was the most comfortable bed we have slept in. The farmhouse and outbuildings have been beautifully restored, including a library where we had an aperitif before dinner, served in the dining room in the farmhouse. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanda68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morpeth hotels
17.4 km away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
27.4 km away
Northumberland Cottage
Northumberland Cottage
#5 of 29 in Morpeth
133 reviews
17.4 km away
The Morpeth Inn
The Morpeth Inn
#6 of 29 in Morpeth
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 km away
The Northumberland Arms
The Northumberland Arms
#3 of 29 in Morpeth
208 reviews
16.9 km away
Riverside Guest House
Riverside Guest House
#7 of 29 in Morpeth
119 reviews
15.8 km away
Shoulder of Mutton
Shoulder of Mutton
#2 of 2 in Longhorsley
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shieldhall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shieldhall

Address: Wallington, Morpeth NE61 4AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Morpeth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Morpeth
Price Range: €91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious accommodation in recently converted 18thC. farm steading with handcrafted furnishings, original art & antique detail everywhere.Deliciously Aga cooked meals from local & seasonal produce.Fine Wines & Secret BarCentral for the Roman Wall, the Cheviots, Keilder and the coast ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing