We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for family holidays”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Goat Barn

Open plan lounge with wood burner
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open plan lounge with wood burner
Large open plan kitchen to seat 11 Island with bar stools
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
43 reviews
Open plan lounge with wood burner
Large open plan kitchen to seat 11
Island with bar stools
Kitchen table extends to seat 8
Stunning open plan living area
Secure & private patio area with BBQ
Patio and BBQ area
Hall with exposed stonework
Main bathroom
Main bathroom.Relaxing bath !
Main bathroom with walk in shower
Twin bedroom
Double bedroom
Master bedroom with king size bed
Master bedroom with en suite and cot
4 bunk beds in room adjoining master bedroom
Front of Goat Barn
One of many rescued resident goats that can be fed
Rescued resident fox at The Sanctuary- however cannot be viewed due to licensing restrictions
Tawny owls  in care at The Sanctuary- but cannot be viewed due to licensing restrictions
View from master bedroom
Rescued ponies& goats at the Sanctuary that visitors can meet and feed.
Shared children's play garden.Some equipment removed due to H&S.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Longhirst, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Loraine F
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for family holidays”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We really enjoyed our short break at Goat Barn. The accommodation suited our family very well and provided everything we needed, except for a washing machine, although the owner allowed us to use the washing machine in the nearby Donkey Barn as this was vacant at the time of our stay. Having the playground outside and of course the animals in the sanctuary, meant there was plenty for the three young children to do.

We are likely to return there in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: Lack of a washing machine
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Np2854
1 review
“Lovely accommodation a unique setting”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the wonderful Goat Barn. The barn was very comfortable, the kitchen / dining room and living room were lovely and spacious. It is clear a lot of care has gone into the renovation.
The location is remote and peaceful; 30 minutes from Newcastle, 30 minutes to the coast and 1 hour to Hadrians Wall.
We all enjoyed our early eveving stroll through the Sanctuary to feed the goats some ginger biscuits!
Being close to the owls and foxes was a weekend we won't forget in a hurry. A lovely time had by all.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themoggie...
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed 17 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

I was delighted to find this barn in a lovely place (close to Morpeth) with lots of space for the kids (8 months, 6, 7, 12, 13, 16) and for myself, husband and Auntie. The price was fantastic, about half the price of similar properties in the area.

On arrival my Aunt was delighted with the welcome and goodies but as the weekend went on it was clear that this place was very much a case of a work in progress. The barn has so much potential, the space is fantastic and being on the sanctuary is wonderful. We could take our small dog who had a ball at the close by beach and in the small enclosed garden. We felt the kitchen was not well stocked though (no washing machine?) and as the barn is not close to restaurants or take always we wanted to cook. We managed but it was a struggle! We also found the finishing's were a bit shoddy, the oven just about fell out etc etc. The beds were cheap as was the bedding which these days you just don't expect.

I think they are a wonderful couple who have done great things and I really hope these comments are taken on board to improve the place as we would love to come back and would be happy to pay more if these were rectified although I am sure it is very difficult managing properties and so many lovely animals.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2014
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay in Goat Barn and we do appreciate guests' comments to help us improve what we offer.

As you said Goat Barn is a " work in progress " and in fact the property only accepted guests from end June 2014 so we hope next year to be able to improve some of what we offer. Sorry if you did not find the mattresses comfortable and "cheap" we will look into improving these when funds become available. However we cannot understand why you thought a genuine antique brass king size bed in the master bedroom was "cheap" !!
Also the bedding used is standard bedding - neither top of the range nor from a market stall. This is all reflected in the pricing which you state is half the price of other similar properties.The beds are British made and the same as those used in our other property which has been running for 18 months now and as yet no other guests have commented on them being cheap.

The comment re the washing machine we feel is not justified as this is stated clearly on the holiday letting website as not included in the property .

Re the kitchen and cooking - we do provide the basic utensils and cookware ( pans, frying pans,casserole dishes etc )so would be interested in knowing what you felt was missing so we can provide theses in future.

WE do hope that you did enjoy your stay with us as we did actually go " the extra mile" for you - when you arrived we realised that you had five children with you ( although you had booked for 8 adults) and we gave you extra bedding to make up all the bunk beds for the children ( at no extra charge ) so we did try to make your stay as good as we could for you so we are sorry that you were not totally satisfied with your stay with us

Re the lack of restaurants & takeaways- it is clear from the webiste that Goat Barn is set in a rural area and we imagine guests investigate the local area & facilities before booking properties. Many guest do in fact enquire about pubs,restaurants before they book. Also did you not see in the visitor book that we provide a number of leaflets from takeaways (Indian/Pizza) that deliver to Goat Barn and we know many guest have used this service so it was not necessary for you to cook unless you chose to do so. Also if you needed something for cooking - why did you not simply ask us if we had it ( another guest asked for a food blended and we lent ours - problem solved !)

Thank you again for bringing these points to our attention and we hope to continue improving the standard of Goat Barn in the future.
Kim Olson
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth J
1 review
“Magical!”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Our stay at the Goat Barn was wonderful. The location on The Sanctuary is fabulous and the children loved rushing out to feed the well cared for animals and playing on the swings and slides. The barn itself was very clean and spacious and we loved relaxing in the comfortable lounge and the kitchen was fabulous to cook and eat in. We also enjoyed the enclosed garden were the kids could play football and we enjoyed several barbecues. The owners were very welcoming and friendly; we cannot recommend a stay here highly enough and can't wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accommodation and animal neighbours!
Liked least: Having to go
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bowmans9
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Our party was 6 adults, 2 children and a dog. The barn conversion is beautifully done and the layout is perfect for a group of people to relax and socialise together. The owners are very close but not at all intrusive. The other barn conversion is separate and does not overlook you. The is a lovely small play area right outside and the animal sanctuary is just yards away. The animals are well loved and friendly. This was perfect for a family weekend away. We too had a fab dat at druridge park and bay. The children played for hours on the lovely beach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$242
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing