We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“So glad I found this little gem!”
other travellers have booked this property
Wark Castle
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wark Castle
Detatched cottage, south facing in it's own private garden, Hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
35 reviews
Wark Castle
Detatched cottage, south facing in it's own private garden,
Hall
Private cottage garden,with BBQ and garden furniture + small safe paddock for games
Sittingroom
Double bedroom
View from garden
Garden from Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
Garden
Attic bedroom
Winter comes to Wark
Spring at the Hirsel
Highland cattle at the Hirsel
Flodden ride
Poppy field near Wark
Bamburgh Castle
River Tweed
New woodburning stove
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Cornhill-on-Tweed, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jo K
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“So glad I found this little gem!”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I'm a little loathe to rave on about Loanview as it might generate more interest and make it more difficult for me to book the property next time! Having said that, it's only fair that I let anyone considering a booking know what they will be getting.
I booked the property for myself, hubby and our 13 and 8 year old children. We like out of the ratrace types of places and we certainly were not disappointed! The cottage was easy to find, just off the B road in a very small village, with ample off-road parking for the family car right outside the door. There was an cosy, old-world feel to the house with the wood fire, beamed ceilings and thick stone walls. The garden was lovely, with a little secluded seating area, some lovely cottage garden plants and hedges seating the largest number of sparrows I've seen! The children loved the ponies which live in the field adjoining the garden, and the secure paddock was great for playing family games (cricket and boules set provided at the cottage - brilliant!). The owner was lovely and friendly, both via email and in person and the extra touches were very welcoming.
On the fine weather days, the cottage was in a great location to explore the area, being within distance of Berwick-upon-Tweed, Kelso, Jedburgh, etc, and on the rainy day we had, it was lovely to cosy up with the fire blazing and play board games - a lovely compendium of games is also provided!
The phone signal was a bit hit and miss, and our 13 year old was mortified that there was no wireless, but that made it better for us to relax and get away from everything! Also, the village has no shop, but the shop 5 minutes drive away at Cornhill is very well stocked (and has WiFi!) Also, Tesco and Sainsbury's both deliver in the area.
We absolutely loved our stay at Loanview, it was everything we hoped for and we just wished we had booked for longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Picturesque cottage - very comfortable and clean.”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay - the cottage is beamed and pretty with swallows swooping around and rabbits in the vegetable patch. It was very clean and in good condition and the owner was very friendly and helpful as well as leaving us some of her own new-laid eggs. The youngest daughter (11) loved the pony and the oldest member of the party (78) loved the comfortable armchair and footstool!

This cottage is located in a good position for visiting the Cheviots, Lindisfarne, Berwick, and Ford and Etal, as well as all the other castles and beauty spots. There are also a couple of nice pubs doing food ten minutes or so drive away, and takeaways and a good Coop in Coldstream, ten minutes drive away, as well as a very good local shop in Cornhill, five minutes drive away, so it was very easy to get everything you needed.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris D
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb place to relax in!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had an amazing time here in Northumberland, with the cottage being ideally situated for the coast, fishing and soem fabulous visitor attractions.

The cottage was very ccomfortable, and perfect for the kids as there is a completely enclosed paddock for them to run around in. The weather for us was perfect, however there are plenty of local things to be done if the weather is not so fair.

Many thanks to Pam and Jim for being so helpful and welcoming,

Would we go back? YES !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gardens and ground
Liked least: Going home.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicH46
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good sized comfortable cottage in peaceful location”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A comfortable cottage in a rural location, plenty of room for our kids aged 14 and 7. They enjoyed the swooping swallows and ponies. The owners were very helpful and provided wine and eggs on arrival, as well as a good fire! They also had suggestions for things to do and places to eat - we had a nice meal in the Fisherman's Arms in Birgham, not the cheapest but good food and a warm welcome. We catered for ourselves mostly; the kitchen was well stocked with utensils, crockery etc. The washing machine worked (no dryer though); we didn't try the dishwasher. Bathroom was fine, bedrooms & living room/diner were spacious, our daughter enjoyed being up in the attic room. Stairs would be a little steep for pre-schoolers though.
A good base for some tourist attractions e.g Holy Island, the Farne Islands, Bamburgh, are about 30 mins away, and of course Scotland is literally across the river - Coldstream was only a few minutes drive. Perhaps a little far from Alnwick, Amble etc unless you're happy with driving each day (we did go to Alnwick Castle & Gardens and it was worth it but quite a long drive). Walks from the cottage are pleasant. There were plenty of sites we didn't have time for e.g. the Light railway at Heatherslack, Flodden Field, Berwick, walks in the Cheviots.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location, good sized property with log fire
Liked least: Central heating currently dependent on log fire, sometimes a bit cold in some but not all other rooms, but I understand this is to be changed shortly
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holgate-G...
Redcar, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This cottage was first class , in an area of great beauty . The hosts were top notch , friendly and informative of their area . A car is a must , but then the area is best explored that way . Lots of history , and a stones throw from Scotland . Thoroughly enjoyed our week here .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything as i`m partially disabled
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing