We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely day trip”
Review of Paxton House

Paxton House
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: One of the finest examples of an 18th-century Palladian Country house in all of Britain. There are many activities at Paxton House to keep you busy for a whole day, including house tours, boat trips and net fishing on the River Tweed, tearoom and gift shop, extensive grounds and gardens, galleries and exhibitions. We also have different types of accommodation, including an apartment, a lodge and a caravan park if you wish to stay and enjoy Paxton House for longer.
Reviewed 18 June 2018

grounds and park are great for kids. visit tot he house is interesting and cafe is lovely. Great food and coffee

Thank 656doreend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Many thanks for your lovely review, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"chippendale furniture"
in 48 reviews
"guided tour"
in 59 reviews
"adventure playground"
in 24 reviews
"lovely grounds"
in 23 reviews
"picture gallery"
in 22 reviews
"tea room"
in 45 reviews
"zip wire"
in 19 reviews
"the river"
in 117 reviews
"old stables"
in 17 reviews
"boat trip"
in 36 reviews
"stables cafe"
in 15 reviews
"teddy bear"
in 13 reviews
"stately home"
in 13 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 49 reviews
"jacket potato"
in 6 reviews
"highland cattle"
in 6 reviews
"extensive grounds"
in 6 reviews
Filter

58 - 62 of 625 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2018

We spent a very enjoyable three hours at Paxton House. We took the first tour at 10.30am and guide Wilma, who was excellent, took us on a very informative and fascinating tour. We were fortunate to see the Chippendale exhibition which was very interesting. We also saw the restored waterwheel in operation during the 1-2pm slot which is allowed for this. In all, it was a most worthwhile visit.

Thank Lordofthemiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Many thanks for your lovely review, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

Staying at Seahouses it wasn't far to go to see the Chippendale exhibition. Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Good parking, nice cafe with tasty food and friendly service. Lots of parkland to explore, very good day out.

1  Thank Chrisgale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Many thanks for your lovely review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us and the Chippendale Exhibition. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

I have visited Paxton House many times, sometimes to take a tour of the house, sometimes to walk around the grounds and once or twice just to eat at The Stable Cafe. I would recommend all of these.
Today we did the fairy trail and it was fun. Saw a couple of families doing it as well and the children seems to be enjoying it.
Lovely place for a day out.

1  Thank Yorkslass69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Many thanks for your lovely review, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Our Fairy Trail will officially open on 1st July. You will be able to buy a booklet and map from the shop where you can follow the story and do the activities. Hopefully this will make it even more enjoyable for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2018

We visited Paxton for the afternoon having looked it up online beforehand whilst on holiday in Northumberland. The approach is delightful and set the scene for a most interesting and enjoyable three hours. Concessionary rate was good value for the house tour and freedom of the grounds. The Cafe was good value, the service welcoming and rapid and the crayfish Marie rose bun delicious - top marks. Then we toured the house with Carol, who was most informative, knowledgeable and above all easy to hear ( for those of us with hearing problems who don’t like to admit it!). After the tour we retrieved the dog from the car which was under a very shady tree and walked to the river, a really peaceful spot. Oh forgot to say that after lunch we saw the renovated water wheel working, another very pleasant and informative guide. Only one slight complaint - when we booked our house tour we mentioned that we had come also to see the (free) exhibition of Chippendale furniture, but unfortunately the person on the till didn’t tell us that it closed at 3pm - and that was the time our house tour finished. We were very disappointed but all in all really enjoyed the afternoon so recommend it highly.

2  Thank Honor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Many thanks for your lovely review, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Our apologies you did no get to see the Chippendale exhibition this is open until the 28th August 11am-3pm daily. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the Paxton House team and we hope to see you back again throughout the season. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paxton House also viewed

Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to Paxton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing