We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the addition of the fairy trail. ”
Review of Paxton House

Paxton House
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: One of the finest examples of an 18th-century Palladian Country house in all of Britain. There are many activities at Paxton House to keep you busy for a whole day, including house tours, boat trips and net fishing on the River Tweed, tearoom and gift shop, extensive grounds and gardens, galleries and exhibitions. We also have different types of accommodation, including an apartment, a lodge and a caravan park if you wish to stay and enjoy Paxton House for longer.
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

I have visited Paxton House many times, sometimes to take a tour of the house, sometimes to walk around the grounds and once or twice just to eat at The Stable Cafe. I would recommend all of these.
Today we did the fairy trail and it was fun. Saw a couple of families doing it as well and the children seems to be enjoying it.
Lovely place for a day out.

1  Thank Yorkslass69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Many thanks for your lovely review, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Our Fairy Trail will officially open on 1st July. You will be able to buy a booklet and map from the shop where you can follow the story and do the activities. Hopefully this will make it even more enjoyable for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"chippendale furniture"
in 48 reviews
"guided tour"
in 59 reviews
"adventure playground"
in 24 reviews
"lovely grounds"
in 23 reviews
"picture gallery"
in 22 reviews
"tea room"
in 45 reviews
"zip wire"
in 19 reviews
"the river"
in 117 reviews
"old stables"
in 17 reviews
"boat trip"
in 36 reviews
"stables cafe"
in 15 reviews
"teddy bear"
in 13 reviews
"stately home"
in 13 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 49 reviews
"jacket potato"
in 6 reviews
"highland cattle"
in 6 reviews
"extensive grounds"
in 6 reviews
Filter

61 - 65 of 626 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2018

We visited Paxton for the afternoon having looked it up online beforehand whilst on holiday in Northumberland. The approach is delightful and set the scene for a most interesting and enjoyable three hours. Concessionary rate was good value for the house tour and freedom of the grounds. The Cafe was good value, the service welcoming and rapid and the crayfish Marie rose bun delicious - top marks. Then we toured the house with Carol, who was most informative, knowledgeable and above all easy to hear ( for those of us with hearing problems who don’t like to admit it!). After the tour we retrieved the dog from the car which was under a very shady tree and walked to the river, a really peaceful spot. Oh forgot to say that after lunch we saw the renovated water wheel working, another very pleasant and informative guide. Only one slight complaint - when we booked our house tour we mentioned that we had come also to see the (free) exhibition of Chippendale furniture, but unfortunately the person on the till didn’t tell us that it closed at 3pm - and that was the time our house tour finished. We were very disappointed but all in all really enjoyed the afternoon so recommend it highly.

2  Thank Honor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Many thanks for your lovely review, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Our apologies you did no get to see the Chippendale exhibition this is open until the 28th August 11am-3pm daily. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the Paxton House team and we hope to see you back again throughout the season. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

Visited today for the 10.30 tour with Bill, the interesting and knowledgable guide. Great tour of the house and kitchen area of this beautiful house. Then for afternoon tea in the cafe which was second to none. Great day, brilliantly organised and amazingly well kept house.

Thank frankm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Many thanks for your lovely review, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the Paxton House team and we hope to see you back again throughout the season. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

We were the only people on the 1030am tour so we had a guide to ourselves for 75 minutes. She was excellent and brought the house alive. The rooms are beautifully arranged with Chippendale furniture seemingly everywhere ! The location and views are wonderful. And the plants for sale were healthy and are thriving in my garden. The highlight of our holiday.

2  Thank WinstonGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Many thanks for your lovely review, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the Paxton House team and we hope to see you back again throughout the season. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2018

We visited Paxton House when we were on holiday in may 2018 . It has excellent grounds to wander round and the guide on the tour of the house was very informative and approachable

1  Thank J3299OApeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Molly S, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Many thanks for your lovely review, we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the Paxton House team and we hope to see you back again throughout the season. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paxton House also viewed

Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland
 

Been to Paxton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing