We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (611)
Filter reviews
611 results
Traveller rating
179
246
85
63
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
179
246
85
63
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue bellold buildingsteakold coaching innevening mealfour poster beda bit tireda living social dealhot waterlick of paintgin tastingpuddinglovely mealtwo coursesfriday nightmain coursebluebell hotel
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 611 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Stayed here for three nights, had a fantastic stay
Lovely bedroom, comfortable beds, good shower/ bath
Wonderful breakfast, very friendly staff, we will definitely be back.
Could not fault it at all
We had room 7 which was very nice

Stayed: April 2018
Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bbhmanager, Manager at Blue Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Thank you so much for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Stayed for two nights, family get together, we being myself, my wife and Woody.

Immediately on arrival you knew it was going to be great, friendly, can't do enough for you staff greeted us. Stayed in Lodge 25 which was really good.

Unfortunately we couldn't stay for dinner but breakfasts of Northumberland style were simply spot on.

We took Woody our Cockapoo and he loved it, the staff were very considerate and we felt very comfortable.

Great value for money.

Room Tip: We stayed in the outside rooms which worked great for us as Dog Owners
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gilman12_34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bbhmanager, Manager at Blue Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We are regular weekend visitors to the bar of the Bluebell. Yes the bar could do with a makeover but that's part of it's charm, especially if you want a relaxed drink and be able to take the dogs with you. For food it's best to book the restaurant, that seems to have just been decorated. Friendly staff serve home cooked food, we had starters of king prawns with chilli and garlic and portobello mushroom with pate and blue cheese, followed by lamb shank and liver & bacon main meals with loads of nicely cooked veggies. In the summer we have a beer in the huge sheltered garden at the back after walking the dogs. Can't comment on the rooms but everything else we like.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bbhmanager, Manager at Blue Bell Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Thank you!
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We only gave this 2 stars as the very tired exterior gives a poor impression and the interior is just the same. We were given a decent sized double room but the mattresses were absolutely shot. The double bed was actually two single divans pushed together and the worst mattress actually had a duvet covering it with a sheet over that, presumably to try to mask the useless springs. We asked if there was an alternative room and viewed that to find a better mattress but the noisy kitchen extractor fan ran right outside the bedroom window. The third choice had a mattress worse then the first one so we stuck with the one we were given in the first place. The main radiator was going full blast which was good because the one in the en-suite did not work at all and the valve controlling it was broken. The sliding door to the en-suite only closed to within 3 inches. The bath had a shower attachment but there was nothing to hang the shower head on to have a shower, and there was no shower curtain anyway. Every floor board creaked no matter where you stood and the original wooden shutters almost closed, but at least they kept most of the light out when the sun rose.
On the positive side, the breakfasts were fantastic. The full Northumberland breakfast could not be faulted on either quality or quantity and that was backed up by the cereal, fruit juice, pastry, yogurt and toast options. On top of that the breakfast waitresses were very polite and attentive so they deserve 5 stars.
So come on owners, spend a little bit of money and thought on sympathetically upgrading the basic fixtures and fittings to make the overall stay worthy of 4 or 5 stars. We are aware it is an old historic coaching inn and authenticity is a key element but there is so much that can be done without loosing that appeal. New mattresses is an example.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank campervanjan2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

We returned here after quite a long time with good memories of a lovely meal in the restaurant. This time, sadly, we were not so impressed. We ate in the bar area which is seriously in need of renovation - the upholstery looks as if it hasn't been changed for very many years and the tables too have seen many years of wear and tear by the look of it. Service was great - very friendly and helpful but the vegetarian meals were disappointing. The bean chili was extremely bland - you would not know there was any chili in it and portion size was very small - it came with rice and only 4 decorative tortilla chips. The vegetable burger was supposed to be spicy but was equally bland and equally small. This came with some exceedingly oily chips. Overall we were not overwhelmed with the experience.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank profjoypc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews