We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“First class holiday rental”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Shy Bairns

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Alnwick Castle
Alnwick Treehouse Restaurant
nearby Alnmouth Beach
Alnmouth
Alnmouth Beach
Alnwick Aln Valley Railway
Alnwick Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
clairelou...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“First class holiday rental”
Reviewed 24 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This is a lovely, quirky stone double fronted town house. It was great to be welcomed by a bottle of fizz and biscuits, such a nice touch. The house Ian's obviously been renovated recently with tasteful decor and furniture/artwork I keeping with the local area. The bathroom is spacious with a luxurious roll top bath and double shower. We enjoyed making a real fire in the evening when it got chilly. It is just a few minutes walk into Alnwick centre and to Morrisons for provisions. We had fish and chips one night from Carlos fish and chip shop - highly recommended/ big portions. There is a pub just up the street but we were so cosy in the evening we didn't want to venture out.
Alnwick castle is a few minutes walk away as are the gardens, both well worth a visit. The beach at Alnmouth is beautiful. All in all we had a great time and would recommend this house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrColinO
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellently appointed quiet cottage”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Lovely cottage in good position for Alnwick and the Northumberland coast. Superb pub just up the road.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossie22
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a fantastic 3day break in Alnwick, rooms where comfortable and spotlessly clean couldn’t fault the accommodation. Lots of nice little touches made this a weekend to remember, we have already recommended the accommodation to family and friends. EXCELLENT

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
424cristi...
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“COMFORTABLE COTTAGE”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This comfortable cottage has three bedrooms (two fairly large, one small) and a large bathroom (with a deep bath and a shower, both of which would accommodate two) upstairs, and a living room and dining room (the latter with a cast-iron stove) and a kitchen with a double oven downstairs. There's only a small yard, no garden, at the rear. Parking is on the street. We found the cottage warm, clean and comfortable and reasonably well equipped.

I doubt there's a better town than Alnwick (pronounced, I'm told, 'Annick') in which to stay while in Northumberland; it's handsome and quite lively and boasts Alnick Castle (seat of the Duke and Duchess of Northumberland), the new Castle Garden (with a tree-house restaurant) and a very large second-hand bookshop, established in the old station. I'd certainly recommend both the cottage and the town.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing