We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Gem.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tower Restaurant & Accommodation

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alnwick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tower Restaurant & Accommodation
Ranked #64 of 69 Alnwick B&B and Inns
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Real Gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Stayed 2 nights and found it was a lovely place to stay. Clean and very cosy and comfortable. The owner Roy and all the staff are so lovely and friendly. The choice for breakfast was amazing as it also offered specials such as eggs benedict, craster kippers as well as full english. The coffee was also served in a cafeterie. The restaurant (where the breakfast is served) is very inviting and menu looked great & reasonable. Didn't get a chance to try out the evening meal but will do in the future. A nice touch having bottles of water in your room. All in all a real gem and would definately recommend!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yajnai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    32
    5
    7
    2
See reviews for
12
65
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

On arrival the restaurant looked small but in the centre of quaint Alnwick which looked quiet. The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We had booked the small double en-suite which was at the top at the back. Nice enough and after a few bumped ankles and elbows we got used to it. Small window and a little too warm if the radiator was on. The view was limited but of the country. Three quarter bed (didn't bother us) and little standing space but the room had everything we needed, including iron, ironing board and hair dryer. Good supply of tea, coffee and milk etc and clean towels and room cleaned each day. Breakfast was lovely with a varied menu and served with a smile in lovely clean cosy surroundings. Very relaxed. Roy and the staff went beyond duty to make sure everything was to our satisfaction. We stayed 3 nights and found various pubs and restaurants around. We ate at the Tower Restaurant one night, which was very tasty and served with the usual impeccable service that made the Tower a fantastic place to stay. We ate at the Caffe Tirreno, which was an Italian Ristorante that has just opened a newer restaurant further along the centre, which we didn't try but heard was just as nice. Good value for money. Very busy. The Castle wasn't open to the public but we had some lovely walks along the stream and went on the woodland walk to the unique Treehouse restaurant and had a fantastic view of the countryside and waterfall at the Duchess Viewpoint at the top. Nowhere was really busy but the Queens Head hotel where we called for a drink on our thirsty return from the walk was clean and friendly, although wouldn't recommend on a nighttime. We thought the Tanners Arms was small, oddly quaint and friendly. A lovely weekend and if we went back, we would definitely stay at the Tower Restaurant again. Would just hope for a bigger room. Thankyou for a welcome pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Choose a large room at the front although all are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenBianchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

An unlikely looking venue, but everything was first-rate, including the pice. We had a huge room at the front, with many extras thoughtfully added (I gather other rooms are smaller) and breakfast and evening meal were excellent. A very pleasant experience

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Stayed at the Tower for two nights this week in view of the splendid weather forecast which turned out to be right and it was certainly very hot. Idealy situated in the town, with a free car park, and Alnwick Castle and Gardens being within a couple of minutes walk away. We had room 1 at the front which was a good size with two double beds, though we had to keep the windows closed in view of some early morning traffic noise. Tea making facilities, fridge, nice towels, clean, shower just average, but an excellent breakfast with friendly service. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed due to a close family bereavement, but the menu and and prices looked good.
Happy to recommend and would return.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bez5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

First impressions of Tower were a little discouraging - but got better! Own parking at the rear is a big plus, but the route from there to our room involved entering by the back door, almost in the kitchen, negotiating our way past a cake/dessert display cabinet and a solitary table located in the dark behind a partition at the rear of the restaurant, then through a door and up narrow stairs to a room with a sofa but otherwise limited space for suitcases and no enclosed hanging space. But the place grows on you (we had 3 nights.) The range of dishes on the menu board, and for breakfast, suggests this is a chef with imagination, and he does not disappoint. "Early Victorian" porridge with whisky, served with muscovado sugar and cream, was rated best ever. Eggs Benedict was another item usually found only in much more expensive establishments. One niggle: coffee was "real" but made by automated machine and pretty thin, so serving it in a cafetiere leaves the customer feeling cheated. In the evening there was a really cosy atmosphere (if you avoid the table behind the partition at the back!), and food was again of a high standard. A nice touch in the rooms - bottled water replaced each day, as well as the usual instant coffee/tea/biscuits. Overall good value.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick_and_Moose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Alnwick hotels
0.0 km away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
0.1 km away
Georgian Guest House
Georgian Guest House
#32 of 69 in Alnwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.2 km away
The Bondgate Boutique
The Bondgate Boutique
#8 of 69 in Alnwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Plough
The Plough
#34 of 69 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.3 km away
Percy Terrace Bed & Breakfast Alnwick
0.3 km away
The Market Tavern and Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower Restaurant & Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Restaurant & Accommodation

Property: Tower Restaurant & Accommodation
Address: 10 Bondgate Within, Alnwick NE66 1TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Alnwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Tower Restaurant & Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Tower Restaurant Hotel Alnwick
Tower Restaurant And Accommodation
Tower Restaurant & Accommodation Alnwick, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing