We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
78
11
6
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
78
11
6
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main hall wedding venue wedding breakfast the cottages ceremony room bride and groom perfect venue apple store amazing wedding dream wedding daughters wedding first class pot roast exclusive use high standard dvd player public rooms
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2016

We got married here and hired the whole hall for one day/morning in April 2016. What an amazing place!! The grounds and buildings themselves are lovely and very welcoming. The entrance hall is beautiful and the chapel where the wedding breakfast and night do was is very airy and gets a lot of natural light which makes it look even nicer. The hall has 18 rooms which can sleep 33, each with their own character and each room is decorated to a very high standard and provides a comfy nights sleep. There are two peacocks which roam the grounds too which can be sighted occasionally. Overall, I couldnt recommend this place enough. The quality of food at the wedding was commented on by several guests as the best they had ever had, and the staff in the lead up to the day and on the day itself could not do enough to help and ensured everything ran smoothly.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skinman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ell-Hall, Manager at Ellingham Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Thank you for your review, we appreciate any feedback from our guests. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and above all, your wedding! I hope you both take away some amazing memories and we wish you all the best in your future together.

Kind Regards
Richard Culverwell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

Just home after a very nice stay!!! lovely building and grounds,staff are so hard working and always there to help x lovely venue!! oh and did i mention the breakfast? and the hot tub?would very happily return,cheers
mick

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ell-Hall, Manager at Ellingham Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always strive to make a guests stay and attendance of an event as enjoyable and memorable as possible. We hope to see you again.

Kind Regards
Richard Culverwell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2016 via mobile

Well, it rained and rained. But that didn't matter. It was a beautiful wedding and Ellingham Hall an excellent location. Some guests stayed in the Hall, others in the cottages. We began in the Hall and migrated to a cottage for a few more days. The Hall is a grand house, not so much beautiful as impressive, though there is some lovely Arts & Crafts detailing (the old kitchen is the best room of all). No complaints about the rooms, except that they couldn't be locked - curious, this. (Nor did the room safe work though that may be down to my not being able to decipher the tiny-print instructions). As for the cottages, they are beautifully finished and a delight to occupy. Just one thing: those who design and furnish them ought to live in them for a couple of nights to road-test. They might have found that the lack of sufficient surfaces in bathroom and bedroom required a certain amount of bedtime improvisation. But in all, a very enjoyable experience.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank GothicVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ell-Hall, Manager at Ellingham Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2016

Thank you for your review, we appreciate any feedback from our guests. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, despite the weather, and that you liked the 'quirk' of the house with the detail we have added, and I agree the old kitchen looks impressive.

I understand the point about no locks on the door. It was a choice decision, with it being a private hire house that it would be a more personal touch to be an open house. We have put internal locks on the doors for personal security when your in the room, and safes for personal belongings when out of the room. I apologise for your safe not working, this is certainly something we could have corrected for you.

I am also happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in a cottage, its not often that a guest gets to experience both parts of accommodation in one go. We will certainly take your advise on-board about the practicality of surfaces and look to rectify it for future guests.

Kind Regards
Richard Culverwell.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2016 via mobile

What a building what grounds excellent lovely driveway with the gardens beautiful. Inside the hall furniture pictures all go in a lovely hall would not change. But simple points kettles tea coffee in rooms locks on doors and the price of drinks £4.50 a pint come on people would spend more money if drinks were cheaper.
But on a high I would recommend this hall, staff were also very good as was the food so well done

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank jasonWhitleyBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016

This is listed as a hotel, but it is not, it is a large family house you can rent. Fantastic venue for a relaxed family wedding. Like any family home there are no locks on bedroom doors (though ours had a safe in it) and bathroom facilities are shared. However having a kitchen available for the entire wedding where you could make tea/coffee, two lounges and lots of little snugs on landings and corridors was a fantastic home comfort.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JeniBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews