We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victoria Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2015 via mobile

Stopped for one night in the small/budget double room. Was plenty big enough for one night, with a nice wardrobe and clean bathroom. Breakfast was really nice too. Probably wouldn't want to stop in this room in the height of summer as I think it was above the kitchen and did get quite warm, even with both windows open. Staff friendly, and free parking a bonus.

Stayed: July 2015
2  Thank Thirteen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (867)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

410 - 414 of 867 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2015

On a two night stay in the bay visited the Vic for lunch on one day and evening dinner the next ,also drank in the hotel both days , noon & night. Whoever is the cellar man should get a medal.The theakstons bitter is excellent and fortunately while we were there they also had old peculiar on draught, and I think that's the best old peculiar I've ever tasted . The lunch time food& sandwiches are very good and well presented with a friendly staff. The evening meal we had was a mixture of specials board & fixed menu, of which I had scallops starter followed by fish& chips, accompanied by an excellent Californian red wine .The food is all fresh and is served in the restaurant by attentive staff and a very efficient restaurant manager. To sum up I would recommend the Victoria hotel for lunchtime food& snacks,for evening meals in the bar or restaurant ,or just having a drink in a nice and friendly place .

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank eric h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2015 via mobile

Anyone who knows the beautiful village of Robin Hoods Bay appreciates that the walk up to the top of the hill is not to be taken lightly. My visit to the restaurant at the Victoria Hotel proved to make the uphill effort worthwhile. Excellent food, I ate scallops for starters and an unusual lobster Thermidor for main course, it was all excellent, in fact really excellent. Good wine and formal yet relaxed and good service. I would return any time.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Coldst57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2015

We only stopped for a cream tea, and I must say the staff were very helpful. The tea and coffee piping hot and the scones freshly made and served with real cream and jam. Worth a visit and the views are spectacular across the bay.
As for the actual village, well it’s a long way down and when you get there it’s tacky and dirty so stay at the top and enjoy the service and view from the Victoria Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2015

We stayed here for one night in June and got a room with a a great balcony overlooking the bay, The room was beautiful, and the view was even better.

This hotel is obviously a popular place for weddings and parties. There was no wedding while we were there, but they had a big tent set up for them. I assume they just leave the wedding tent up all summer.

My excellent rating was more for the room we had than the food. The food and bar were OK, but not any better than most Inns in the area.

Robin Hood's Bay is a great little town on the North Sea coast and if you go there the Victoria is a perfect choice to stay. We were finishing up the Coast to Coast walk, and the hotel is up a very "steep" hill from the water.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the bay and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank drwokla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Robin Hood's Bay
10.5 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#5 of 19 in Whitby
2,212 reviews
4.5 km away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
1,320 reviews
0.4 km away
The Bramblewick
The Bramblewick
#2 of 2 in Robin Hood's Bay
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 km away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 2 in Goathland
803 reviews
11.1 km away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#10 of 19 in Whitby
916 reviews
15.2 km away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Hotel

Address: Station Road | Whitby, North York Moors National Park, Robin Hood's Bay YO22 4RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Robin Hood's Bay
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Robin Hood's Bay
Price Range: €88 - €157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Hotel is situated in the most prominent position in Robin Hoods Bay overlooking the bay itself. Built in 1897 purposely as a hotel. It boasts large guest rooms, all en-suite with the majority having a sea view. It has a sea view restaurant, coffee shop, public bar, children's room and serves meals throughout the day. This family run business is a gem on the east coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Robin Hoods Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing