We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place for a family get together”

Review of The Old Mill

The Old Mill
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Mill
The Old Mill from a distance in spring The lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
The Old Mill
The Old Mill from a distance in spring
The lounge
The kitchen
Family bedroom
Twin room, 2nd floor
Bathroom, 1st floor
Bathroom, 2nd floor
Studio Theatre at The Old Mill Centre
In the grounds by the beck
The Old Mill from a distance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Richmond, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nicki W
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for a family get together”
Reviewed 30 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had a lovely time at the Old Mill a couple of weekends ago - 14 grown ups, and 6 children. The facilities were perfect - we managed all adults around the dining room table for meals, with children just next to us at the kitchen table. The lounge was an added bonus - much bigger than it looks from the photos - and we gathered in there for family entertainment in the evenings. The studio provided a bigger space for table tennis and ceremonial birthday cake giving. Plenty of comfortable places to sleep too. Would definitely recommend to any similar sized groups as a lovely place to stay.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temi777
Billingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOMEN RETREAT STAY AT OLD MILL”
Reviewed 13 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

‘I would like to say thank you for the hospitality we received during our weekend stay at Old Mill.
There was an unusual peace in the environment that surpasses human understanding. It was a perfect venue!’

I went with a group of 20 - 14 women and mix of babies/children. We had a fantastic time!

I would definitely recommend the centre to friends, associates, corporate organisation and church groups.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the centre
Liked least: No objection
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah P
Pickering, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant Family Christmas”
Reviewed 10 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is the 2nd year running we have stayed at the old mill for Christmas, what a fantastic time we had. We find the old mill well set out, well stocked with everything you should need to make Xmas dinner and cater for large parties, has plenty of pans, crockery, utensils, washing up liquid etc etc. The Old mill is both homely and welcoming as well as inviting, Christmassy and large enough to accommodate large groups comfortably. There are games a plenty, books, and a piano for your entertainment, all in all another very relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable stay, thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and tranquil setting
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda M
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!! Anyone wanting a family get together this is the place to be.”
Reviewed 28 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a family wedding close by and wanted to extend the weekend, could not have chosen a better place. Everything we needed under one roof. We had mini xmas the next day in the studio with table tennis competition! then games and drinks round the log fire on the night, a great time was had by all, our extended family ages ranged from 9yrs to 83yrs and everything was catered for, from logs left by the fire to paracetamol for those who had had too much the night before!! We had family members from Hong Kong who had flown over for the wedding and had never experienced anything like this welcoming cottage before. Whole family cannot wait to visit again, we are going to book again for spring/summer get together weekend and would recommend 100% this charming cottage to any other group/family get together.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience of a charming yorkshire cottage with local amenities
Liked least: If I was going to be (really picky) it would be to say needed a larger oven to accommadate lots of hungry people, but with a summer visit would be no problem with access to barbeque facilities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emchant
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing destination for a committee weekend away”
Reviewed 4 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Had an amazing trip away with my committee, we did 'bake off' in the studio, ate a lot of pizza, painted out nails (we even convinced the guys to take part)etc. A peaceful, fun and inclusive get away which had all the accessibility needs required for our group as well as being easy to get to with a group of university students! Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing