We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, comfortable small hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Groves Hotel

The Groves Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knaresborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Groves Hotel
Ranked #12 of 16 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Friendly, comfortable small hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

Stayed one night and will definitely return. Beds really comfortable. Breakfast freshly prepared and very good. No need to worry about rooms being over the pub as there was no noise even with windows open. En suite facilities were typical of a more high class hotel and reflected the effort put into recent refurb. The staff made us feel very welcome. Would have got 5 stars but rooms are two floors up and there is no lift.

Room Tip: Room 4 had twin beds facing behind the pub so not great views but quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    17
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
26
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed at The Grove for one night and really enjoyed our stay and were made to feel right at home. The bedroom was clean and looked like it had been recently refurbished, the shower and bathroom were also spotless. The staff were very accommodating, served us a lovely breakfast and nothing felt like too much trouble.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KWJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

Had a fantastic breakfast service was amazing nothing too much trouble. Highly recommend this place

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawny25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

This small and friendly family orientated pub had approximately 4 bedrooms above it. We stayed in No2 and No4, both were recently refurbished clean and bright. One room overlooked part off the market square so after 7pm there was no through traffic. The pub itself was a bit bland regarding decor, but the owner stated they were due to give it a lick of paint in the near future. Breakfast was adequate and the owners very accomodating with special requests.

Room Tip: number 2 and 4 were very nice both had no through traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chardonnaylilac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed here with our 14month old son in October. The room was nice, and i really appreciated that baths were available in all rooms. Not so nice was the entry through the pub, which didn't smell very nice and meant we had to come in through the outside smokers. Another down side for us was the very narrow stairway and several flights of stairs which meant that our pushchair couldn't come up and we struggled with furniture. There is no parking including or set aside for the hotel and apart from breakfast we just didn't see the proprietors (no information in the rooms either so had to ask in the pub about breakfast). We enjoyed the location but because of the average room refreshments and access, i don/t think we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa
4.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
0.1 km away
Old Royal Oak
Old Royal Oak
#7 of 16 in Knaresborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Kirkgate House
Kirkgate House
#3 of 16 in Knaresborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.2 km away
The Mitre Inn
The Mitre Inn
#6 of 16 in Knaresborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.3 km away
Newton House
Newton House
#4 of 16 in Knaresborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Groves Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Groves Hotel

Property: The Groves Hotel
Address: 30 Market Place, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 8AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing