We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely find !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Teardrop Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knaresborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Teardrop Cottage
Ranked #1 of 17 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely find !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

We visited Teardrop Cottage for a short break in November 2011, and we're so glad we found it ! It was obvious from our first contact with 'Mike' the owner ( during the booking process ) that he was very considerate to the needs of his visitors.
Teardrop Cottage is situated in a stunning spot under a famous viaduct on the river Nidd - it's a truly magical place, within easy walking distance of the lovely town or a short railway trip into Harrogate ( the station is very close by ).
Mike is a fabulous host and a truly nice guy : nothing is too much trouble. You can really tell that he cares about the needs of his customers and the attention to the finer details in our room and around the cottage really won us over . . you can't help but feel welcomed and at home. He was also a fabulous source of local information and gave us great advice on good places to visit - and where to eat and drink. We had a gorgeous meal at 'Carriages' Bistro and some really great local Ale in 'Blind Jacks' pub after following Mike's advice.
Our room, the chocolate brown luxury double on the first floor had a lovely view of the river and viaduct. It was very nicely decorated and extremely clean. The shower in the bathroom was great - nice and powerful ! Breakfast was great too . . again Mike's attentive nature and attention to detail was very impressive. I can't believe it would be possible to have a bad stay.
Would we stay there again - ABSOLUTELY !!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walnut_cottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    24
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
207
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tyne and Wear
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

I booked the luxury king size room at Teardrop Cottage as a surprise gift for my partner's birthday. The owner, Mike, was really helpful from the first email he sent to answer my various queries. He even waited until we arrived to buy food for our breakfast so he could discuss my partner's dietary requirements (he cannot eat wheat, gluten or dairy products) and ensure he got it exactly right.

The room was beautiful and exactly what I hoped for with tasteful but practical furniture, and lovely decor. There is a lot of attention to detail in every aspect of the B & B, right down to the hospitality tray including various teas and coffees, chocolates and biscuits. The breakfast was great too. This is eaten at a shared table with up to four other people, which doesn't bother me personally but might not suit everyone.

The location is excellent as you can easily walk into the town to the shops or one of the pubs. We went to the Cross Keys, a nice traditional pub which was reasonably priced. Although we didn't get the chance to do so, you could easily do various walks nearby including one almost from the doorstep along the river. Overall I think this is a great place to stay and I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: The king size room is beautiful- spacious and very comfortable, with doors leading straight out to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison_Eliza_Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

We visited Teardrop Cottage November 2011, and what a little cracker it turned out to be. Located close to the river Nidd in a part of Knaresborough which is full of character and some very interesting houses.
Michael the owner was so welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for him. Our room was the one with the king size bed, located on the ground floor; it was very comfortable and well presented. Every thing was so tastefully decorated with that personal touch which makes it a pleasure to visit such a great B & B.
Breakfast was one of the best; everything fresh and prepared to order. Michael's line in tea pots is interesting! This one we will return to.

Room Tip: All rooms are individually themed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthShieldsRoamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

We stayed three nights at Teardrop cottage at the beginning of our tour around the UK and wish that we could have stayed longer. The room we had was beautifully styled, the attention to detail for a comfortable stay was perfect, the breakfasts kept us going all day and Mike was the perfect host. The cottage is in perfect walking distance to some great eats and the train station, as well as perfect driving distance to some stunning locations such as Fountains Abbey (a must see!). We learnt on our travels that a stay in a B&B is as much about the host, as it is about the accommodation: Mike was the most welcoming, gracious and friendly host that you could ever find.

Room Tip: The ground floor room was a wonderful size for a small family and being away from other rooms the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

I stayed at Teardrop Cottage with my boyfriend on a spare of the moment decision when we were driving across England. It was recommended to us by a local, and rightly so. We had a wonderful stay, and would definitely stay here again. Mike is a wonderful host, who goes out of his way to ensure that you have the best time in Knaresborough. The location is perfect, with free parking, the beautiful viaducts over the river, the castle ruins, and the quaint town centre nearby. The food was fantastic, and the room was equipped and decorated to a high standard, making it at comfortable and homely stay. I highly recommend Teardrop Cottage as the perfect weekend get away, and wish Mike the best of luck with his b&b for the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Knaresborough
3.9 km away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,250 reviews
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa
4.6 km away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Goldsborough Hall
Goldsborough Hall
#2 of 17 in Knaresborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.2 km away
Kirkgate House
Kirkgate House
#3 of 17 in Knaresborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.3 km away
Old Royal Oak
Old Royal Oak
#7 of 17 in Knaresborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teardrop Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teardrop Cottage

Property: Teardrop Cottage
Address: Waterside, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 9AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teardrop cottage is set in the picturesque location of waterside, with magnificent views of the river, castle and Victorian stone viaduct. A short walk from the historic market town of Knaresborough, with its eclectic mix of restaurants,individual shops and fine old pubs, the nearby railway station provides quick and easy access to the towns of Harrogate and its international exhibition centre, York and Leeds, and borders the beautiful Yorkshire Dales, moors and the east coast....our aim is to give you a relaxing and memorable stay in our stunning and magical location. Our 4 rooms are comfortable and finished to a very high standard. Our breakfast menu offers delicious,freshly prepared and locally sourced food. We insist that you make yourself "at home". We hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Teardrop Cottage Hotel Knaresborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing