We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreamsUS$166
PricelineUS$166
Agoda.comUS$166
TripadvisorUS$166
StayForLong
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveller rating
81
64
21
6
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
81
64
21
6
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dales village steak and ale pie a small car park fish and chips busy pub dog friendly pub excellent stay packed lunch good size excellent breakfast lovely room wensleydale creamery top quality warm welcome both nights angus mandy
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 181 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2021

Situated in the middle of Hawes, The Fountain is a good base for exploring. Our room was clean although a bit on the small size. Comfortable bed with fresh and supportive pillows. The bathroom was spotless being newly fitted and having a large walk-in shower with easy to use controls. It would be good to have a shelf fitted in the shower to place toiletries on. The breakfast was organised and delicious. We also had one evening meal in the bar which was also of a high quality.
Our tv was not working in our room which we were told was to do with the tv mast having been burnt down. Only other thing to note is if you have a room overlooking the street it can get quite noisy at night with people drinking outside. We tend to go to bed early so it was a bit disruptive for us.

Date of stay: September 2021
Thank SarahHongKong_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda McCarthy, Owner at The Fountain Hotel (Hawes) Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review.
Unfortunately we are still awaiting the mast to be up and running.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2021 via mobile

We ate here on four occasions during our week long stay in Hawes. The food was really good and even with the pub being busy and tables at a premium, the staff made every effort to try and squeeze us in. I can highly recommend the roast dinner on a Sunday and the Cumberland Sausage.
The pub also had a great range of local beers on cask with the Semer Water in particular sliding down a treat.
Welcoming and helpful staff with great food and drink. What’s not to like!

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Erasedcitizen2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda McCarthy, Owner at The Fountain Hotel (Hawes) Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

What a lovely review, thank you and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2021

After a dash across the fields from Hardraw to watch the Rugby league match in the pub I was disappointed when i walked in to find the cricket on every telly. The barman was all too happy to change the channel on one of the screens and one of the locals volunteered to move seats so that the two of us could watch it. It turned out that i had chatted to him a few years ago. I had a lovely few hours catching up on some local news and having a good chinwag with Al and his lovely dog. The Landlord and landlady were so friendly, and welcoming. When they realised that we would have to walk back acrooss the fields to our campsite they immediately offerred to give us a lift. If you have never experienced the hospitality of Hawes then you are missing out. !!!

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F2077QCkevinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda McCarthy, Owner at The Fountain Hotel (Hawes) Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2021

Thank you for your lovely review.
Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2021

We booked this place very last minute and stayed for two nights. For the price we paid for it, it was value for money at £100 a night. The room was a reasonable size and the bed was comfortable . The morning breakfast was cooked to order and excellent. The hotel is a little tired in places but overall we were pleased with everything. The only thing was the rooms weren't cleaned but we did get fresh towels and supplies from the housekeeping girl. It seems a bit hit and miss on which hotels are cleaning rooms due to covid and which ones are not.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracie1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda McCarthy, Owner at The Fountain Hotel (Hawes) Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
We, for your safety and ours, have decided not to service rooms unless the guest requests it, until all our staff have been double vaccinated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2021

We enjoyed a really tasty 'Lasagne' and 'Steak & Ale Pie'. The service was good and we will definitely be staying over again. There is parking at the rear too, which was convenient for us and saved trying to find a spot overnight.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank derekwR1987FZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda McCarthy, Owner at The Fountain Hotel (Hawes) Ltd, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2021

Thank you for your lovely review. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews