We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (442)
Filter reviews
442 results
Traveller rating
244
121
45
19
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
244
121
45
19
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade biscuits scallops molton brown toiletries lounge area fantastic food lamb wine list black pudding on arrival main course gastro pub fish and chips yorkshire breakfast attention to detail first class for sunday lunch evening meal
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 442 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2017

A wonderful country setting with fabulous furnishing and fantastic food and drinks, however if you plan to stay DO NOT book a downstairs room, unless you want a sleepless night. You can hear every single footstep above, shower , and if the person above snores it is like they are next to you! Not great for a £150 per night accommodation! The staff are great but unable to do anything about it or even make a deduction for the inconvenience.! Shame what was a lovely day!

Room Tip: upstairs room only
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dby7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Our visit this weekend was spoilt by the very creaky floor boards caused by expanding hot water pipes and the guest in the upstairs room walking around. We were also kept awake by being able to hear this guest's constant snoring; you do not expect this level of poor sound insulation for a room which costs £150. Quite clearly the owners are aware of the issue (see previous poor reviews) but cant afford to make the necessary changes(which they say they are looking into) required to resolve the problem. We stayed in room 5 and our friends in room 7. Its a shame as we found the food, the staff and the general ambience of the place excellent.For an overnight stay we would recommend the Blue Bell at Arkendale which is in the next village.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the downstairs rooms numbered 1-7
Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

I had a lovely Sunday lunch with my partner this afternoon. The prawns for starters were crispy and well seasoned. I had the pork roast which was a delight and my better half had the lamb, the Yorkshire puddings were the best I've had. We had a young man called Will serving us, he was welcoming to the point it almost seemed as if I already knew him!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jordan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017

Stayed for two nights whilst on business in the area. The public areas are immaculate
with a wonderful calming ambience.The staff are very friendly, professional and welcoming.The bedroom was immaculate,spacious and extremely comfortable. Great hospitality tray with yummy home-made biscuits. The evening meals and breakfasts were again of an extremely high standard some of the best food I have ever tasted.
I really don't have enough superlatives to do justice to this establishment. A truly wonderful place to visit.!!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017

We stayed when celebrating mother in laws 90th birthday. Having eaten there before were looking forward to an enjoyable evening with family. Checked in at 3.30 pm went smoothly until we asked if we could get a bar snack as we had been traveling for 4 hours. That was the first disappointment, sorry the kitchen is closed I can offer you some homemade biscuits. You will got something in Knaresborough. So we had to drive to Knaresborough to get a sandwich not what you need after a long journey. Some family members were not staying and arrived at 6.30 pm as arranged in the bar. Second disappointment, all the seating areas had reserved on so we had nowhere to sit to enjoy a pre-dinner drink. Bearing in mind that 2 members of our party of 9 were 90 years +. Never known a hotels bar area not open to all guests on a first come basis. Dinner however was very pleasant and we all enjoyed the various dishes. Waiting staff were both friendly and professional. Breakfast was also most enjoyable with top quality local ingredients. Bedrooms were comfortable and clean. Because of the 2 disappointments I do not think this represents value for money so would not stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ToppyHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews