We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anticipated Visit.”

Steels CornerHouse Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 141 Restaurants in Cleethorpes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Anticipated Visit.”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My daughter who has lived in the area now for over a year had not had chance to dine at this retro restaurant, and following many recommendations from the local's decided to reward ourselves after a hard day of moving house. We visited for a much anticipated fish and chip supper - and was not dissappointed. We did not queue or book, and where lucky enough to get a table upstairs after a couple of minutes wait, (suprised to see tables packed upstairs aswell). The whole experience took me back to my childhood in the 60's. The small portions where absolutely huge, fish 'melt in your mouth' and mushy peas excellent. The service was fast, efficient and very friendly. All washed down with builders tea, bead and 'real' butter. Without a doubt the best fish and chips we have ever eaten. Will definately visit again, now it is on our radar!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank h0pps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    709
    238
    83
    37
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“If you want great fish and chips!”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

An amazing restaurant, always packed so you may end up queuing in the street! But the service is excellent and seating comfortable. Has to be the ultimate "chippy" Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank davidjames47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caistor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned food and service”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

My wife and I went for a late Sunday lunch, we both chose Haddock and Chips which were accompanied by peas bread & butter and a drink.
The food was absolutely 1st class, the service was excellent. The waitresses were very attentive and efficient.
The restaurant is a little dated but I think that adds to the character of the place.

Highly recommend Steels Corner House and will definitely return. Keep up the good work.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Fish & chips... and pie!”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

A worthy local favourite for fish and chips. Crispy batter, fluffy chips and huge portions. Excellent pie crust too, if you're willing to forego the fish and chips to sample an alternative!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank SpringsteenFan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotherham
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A warm & welcome spot on a cold wet day”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

A cold February half term visit to Cleethorpes was cheered up by a lovely traditional seaside lunch. Huge fish, even though my Granddaughter ordered the small size which was accompanied by chips and mushy peas, with bread and butter and a pot of tea. That's what we went for - and that's what we got! Quality of the food was good and tasty but most of my chips could have best been described as crisps!
Service excellent with pleasant friendly waitress, but we did have a ten minute wait and were asked to stand outside on the small landing next to the toilets whilst our table was ready which was rather irritating as I had deliberately pre-booked by phone to avoid the often lengthy queues which we had experienced on our last visit.
Yes, we would visit again, in fact it's probably the best reason to visit Cleethorpes!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ralphwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Steels CornerHouse Restaurant also viewed

Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
 
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
Cleethorpes, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Steels CornerHouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing