We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Falcon Inn(Long Whatton)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (360)
Filter reviews
360 results
Traveller rating
264
71
15
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
264
71
15
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubroyal oaksharing platterfish piepuddingbelly porksunday lunchbeer festivalham hockscallopsbooked a tablecooked to perfectionpie nightmain coursebrownieeast midlands airportbottled water
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 360 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2017

Booked in for 2 nights last weekend. Lovely room, clean, modern and staff very accommodating making sure we had skimmed milk in room and for breakfast which by the way was hot, great choice, eggs cooked to order and very pleasant staff overseeing the service. However, emergency light over door in room emits a green light which is constant and this really affected my sleep as it lightened up the room, we also appeared to have a boiler pump somewhere going through its cycle all night every 30 seconds. Overall did not get much sleep despite a very comfy bed. This was pointed out to staff and we were told that these are issues currently being addressed. That aside I would definitely recommend this place.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Clare G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

We stayed and ate here for our 22nd anniversary; having celebrated having a 7 course meal on a river cruise in Bangkok, in the USA and other locations like that, we both agree this is in the top 5 wedding anniversaries.

We stayed in room 8 which has recently been renovated and we were very impressed by how warm and comfortable it was.

However the real treat was the food from the Autumn menu, it could not have been nicer, each bite being savored for all it was worth. Carol splashed out on the started and had the scallops which were cooked to perfection while I splashed out on dessert, but we'll get to that.

Our main courses were venison for Carol and breast of pheasant and game pie for me. They were beyond words, an absolute treat; we felt like we were judging an episode of Master Chief.

My dessert was croissant and danish pastry bread and butter pudding which was delicious, but the home made vanilla custard was the highlight.

It was a bit pricey with drinks, but it was worth every penny.

We would like to commend Laura who checked us in and served us at the bar; her manner, humour and professionalism was faultless, thank you

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ar2000d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Picked this pub based on great reviews and were not disappointed. Amazing food and quick and efficient service . Cosy atmosphere with low lighting. We had delicious roast chicken with the best veg selection ever. Loved the red wine gravy too. Desserts were just as good especially the Eton mess. Looking forward to returning soon. Never written a review after a pub lunch but this deserved it. Highly recommend.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

The pub is extraordinary with farm to table menu and good service. The room however was not very sound proof and we heard both sides of the other rooms both nights which was something that I would avoid in the future. So we rate the pub a (5/5) excellent and the rooms as a hit or miss a (3/5) whether you have a quiet night.

Room Tip: I suppose you could ask them for one that had sound proofing, room 3 does not.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Letsgettherenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

A group of 6 of us stayed at the Royal Oak for one night. We had 3 of the stable rooms each and we were surprised at how spacey and well kitted out they were. The bed is extremely comfy and the bathroom is well equipped.

We also had a meal at the pub and it was amazing and everything is so reasonably priced.

Highly recommend. There isn't an awful lot to do in the area but it's still nice for a peaceful stay

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jhg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews