We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a delight”
Review of The Royal Oak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Oak
Ranked #1 of 2 Long Whatton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

We enjoy the sample menu...good choice of sample food with reasonable portions...great food, superbly presented,Excellent staff,clean and contemporary, great choice of beers and spirits....always a winner in our eyes..

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2017

Booked in for 2 nights last weekend. Lovely room, clean, modern and staff very accommodating making sure we had skimmed milk in room and for breakfast which by the way was hot, great choice, eggs cooked to order and very pleasant staff overseeing the service. However, emergency light over door in room emits a green light which is constant and this really affected my sleep as it lightened up the room, we also appeared to have a boiler pump somewhere going through its cycle all night every 30 seconds. Overall did not get much sleep despite a very comfy bed. This was pointed out to staff and we were told that these are issues currently being addressed. That aside I would definitely recommend this place.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Clare G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

We stayed and ate here for our 22nd anniversary; having celebrated having a 7 course meal on a river cruise in Bangkok, in the USA and other locations like that, we both agree this is in the top 5 wedding anniversaries.

We stayed in room 8 which has recently been renovated and we were very impressed by how warm and comfortable it was.

However the real treat was the food from the Autumn menu, it could not have been nicer, each bite being savored for all it was worth. Carol splashed out on the started and had the scallops which were cooked to perfection while I splashed out on dessert, but we'll get to that.

Our main courses were venison for Carol and breast of pheasant and game pie for me. They were beyond words, an absolute treat; we felt like we were judging an episode of Master Chief.

My dessert was croissant and danish pastry bread and butter pudding which was delicious, but the home made vanilla custard was the highlight.

It was a bit pricey with drinks, but it was worth every penny.

We would like to commend Laura who checked us in and served us at the bar; her manner, humour and professionalism was faultless, thank you

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ar2000d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Picked this pub based on great reviews and were not disappointed. Amazing food and quick and efficient service . Cosy atmosphere with low lighting. We had delicious roast chicken with the best veg selection ever. Loved the red wine gravy too. Desserts were just as good especially the Eton mess. Looking forward to returning soon. Never written a review after a pub lunch but this deserved it. Highly recommend.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

The pub is extraordinary with farm to table menu and good service. The room however was not very sound proof and we heard both sides of the other rooms both nights which was something that I would avoid in the future. So we rate the pub a (5/5) excellent and the rooms as a hit or miss a (3/5) whether you have a quiet night.

Room Tip: I suppose you could ask them for one that had sound proofing, room 3 does not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Letsgettherenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Whatton
2.9 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
10.6 km away
Quorn Country Hotel
Quorn Country Hotel
#9 of 12 in Loughborough
715 reviews
5.6 km away
Burleigh Court
Burleigh Court
#4 of 12 in Loughborough
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 km away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#3 of 12 in Loughborough
393 reviews
0.6 km away
Falcon Inn
Falcon Inn
#2 of 2 in Long Whatton
174 reviews
9.6 km away
The Guesthouse at Rempstone
The Guesthouse at Rempstone
#2 of 19 in Loughborough
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak

Address: 26 The Green, Long Whatton, Loughborough LE12 5DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Loughborough > Long Whatton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Long Whatton
Price Range: €92 - €117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Oak 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A chic village gastropub with rooms, located 3.1 miles from East Midlands Airport, 4.6 miles off the M1 motorway and 5.3 miles from the Great Central Railway. The contemporary rooms have en suite shower rooms with luxury toiletries, as well as 32-inch flat-screen TVs, tea and coffee making facilities, mini fridges and the superior room has extra space and a sofa area. A full English or continental breakfast is included, while an upscale modern British menu is served in the rustic-chic pub, which has exposed brick details, beamed ceilings and fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Long Whatton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing