We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had noisy neighbors both nights”
Review of The Royal Oak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Oak
Ranked #1 of 2 Long Whatton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2017

The pub is extraordinary with farm to table menu and good service. The room however was not very sound proof and we heard both sides of the other rooms both nights which was something that I would avoid in the future. So we rate the pub a (5/5) excellent and the rooms as a hit or miss a (3/5) whether you have a quiet night.

Room Tip: I suppose you could ask them for one that had sound proofing, room 3 does not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Letsgettherenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2017

A group of 6 of us stayed at the Royal Oak for one night. We had 3 of the stable rooms each and we were surprised at how spacey and well kitted out they were. The bed is extremely comfy and the bathroom is well equipped.

We also had a meal at the pub and it was amazing and everything is so reasonably priced.

Highly recommend. There isn't an awful lot to do in the area but it's still nice for a peaceful stay

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jhg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights and were very pleasantly surprised by the standard of accommodation. Good sized room which was very clean. Nice modern bathroom. The bar and restaurant being a few metres away made our stay excellent. Very friendly staff. The village was worth a wander around too. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

We stayed here for one night as we were attending a local wedding, the welcome was warm, accommodation was great, bar was good, breakfast excellent and Sunday lunch sublime, all topped with excellent service, couldn't rate this place highly enough, it's a shame we don't live closer, we would gladly become a regular part of the fixtures and fittings - fabulous!

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Tracey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Visited this restaurant for the first time.
The menu was simple with a mix of traditional and modern recipes

The staff were excellent and very polite and extremely attentive.

The food was absolutely delicious

I just wished they had more options for vegans and gulteen free diners

However I would certainly visited again.

The carrot and coriander soup was the best i have ever had.

The sticky toffee pudding was delicious but just a little on the cold side. The pudding needed to be a little more warmer

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank slimsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Whatton
2.9 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
5.6 km away
Burleigh Court
Burleigh Court
#4 of 12 in Loughborough
753 reviews
11.1 km away
Quorn Grange Hotel
Quorn Grange Hotel
#3 of 12 in Loughborough
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Premier Inn Loughborough Hotel
Premier Inn Loughborough Hotel
#1 of 12 in Loughborough
863 reviews
0.6 km away
Falcon Inn
Falcon Inn
#2 of 2 in Long Whatton
174 reviews
6.4 km away
Caravelli with Rooms
Caravelli with Rooms
#7 of 19 in Loughborough
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak

Address: 26 The Green, Long Whatton, Loughborough LE12 5DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Loughborough > Long Whatton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Long Whatton
Price Range: €92 - €118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Oak 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A chic village gastropub with rooms, located 3.1 miles from East Midlands Airport, 4.6 miles off the M1 motorway and 5.3 miles from the Great Central Railway. The contemporary rooms have en suite shower rooms with luxury toiletries, as well as 32-inch flat-screen TVs, tea and coffee making facilities, mini fridges and the superior room has extra space and a sofa area. A full English or continental breakfast is included, while an upscale modern British menu is served in the rustic-chic pub, which has exposed brick details, beamed ceilings and fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Long Whatton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing