We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Falcon Inn(Long Whatton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
260
71
15
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
260
71
15
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubsharing platterroyal oakfish piepuddingbelly porkbeer festivalsunday lunchham hockscallopsbooked a tablecooked to perfectionpie nightbrowniemain courseeast midlands airportwalk in shower
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 356 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2017

A group of 6 of us stayed at the Royal Oak for one night. We had 3 of the stable rooms each and we were surprised at how spacey and well kitted out they were. The bed is extremely comfy and the bathroom is well equipped.

We also had a meal at the pub and it was amazing and everything is so reasonably priced.

Highly recommend. There isn't an awful lot to do in the area but it's still nice for a peaceful stay

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jhg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights and were very pleasantly surprised by the standard of accommodation. Good sized room which was very clean. Nice modern bathroom. The bar and restaurant being a few metres away made our stay excellent. Very friendly staff. The village was worth a wander around too. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

We stayed here for one night as we were attending a local wedding, the welcome was warm, accommodation was great, bar was good, breakfast excellent and Sunday lunch sublime, all topped with excellent service, couldn't rate this place highly enough, it's a shame we don't live closer, we would gladly become a regular part of the fixtures and fittings - fabulous!

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Tracey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Visited this restaurant for the first time.
The menu was simple with a mix of traditional and modern recipes

The staff were excellent and very polite and extremely attentive.

The food was absolutely delicious

I just wished they had more options for vegans and gulteen free diners

However I would certainly visited again.

The carrot and coriander soup was the best i have ever had.

The sticky toffee pudding was delicious but just a little on the cold side. The pudding needed to be a little more warmer

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank slimsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

We had a pleasant meal recently which was a treat for some friends.. service was attentive and pleasant and some dishes were good. However, others were less so and rather overpriced e.g. the caprese salad at £6.50 was dull and bland, the Royal Oak fish pie at £13 had no salmon, 3 prawns and a bit of haddock and no discernible scallops - plenty of mash!! The steak however was fine and the pork belly delicious . The chocolate and orange truffle cake was basically a round brownie, and at £6.95 the slice of pineapple was barely caramelised and had no hint of rum. The blood orange sorbet was the most tasteless ice cream I've ever had. It was ok but for £132 approx for 4 (some drinks incl but not a bottle of wine) it was too average to return in a hurry.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Alison23lufbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews