We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (892)
Filter reviews
892 results
Traveller rating
607
197
55
20
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
607
197
55
20
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews classic room leisure centre gisburn suite groupon offer main building master of ceremonies upgraded to a suite ribble valley grounds are beautiful country house wedding party sauna and steam room dinner bed and breakfast lounge area evening meal century manor walk in shower
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 892 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2018

Lovely hotel, great large room, good food and really nice staff. Stayed 1 night on business trip. This hotel excited my expectations nicely decorated. Evening meal and breakfast served to a very high standard.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank matthewsmith31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

We went to a friends wedding here and it was just beautiful. We ate here the night before the wedding and everything we ate was great. We went to the wedding the next day and everything the venue did was just beautiful. Had good food, great bar, wonderful outside smoking area. The room was clean and comfortable with a super comfy bed. Loved it all.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

Went to a wedding here recently and the venue was perfect. The chicken for the main dinner was very overlooked and took some effort to cut and chew so left it.

I stayed overnight in The Lodge and the room was great. Lovely decor and comfortable bed. View was great. I could hear my neighbours in the next room a bit, but was ok.

I had breakfast in the morning where you got your own continental breakfast and then could order a lovely cooked breakfast. I had eggs benedict, but only got one half a muffin and one egg. Every time I have had this before it's been one full muffin and two eggs. Was hardly anything of it.

Other than that, was a lovely romantic setting.

Room tip: The lodge, was out of the way of the main hotel
Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Kerry082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018 via mobile

Today 4 of us visited Stirk House Hotel for lunch which was very nice. Three of us had the steak and ale pie and we asked for some additional gravy. We were provided with a small jug of gravy, less than an egg cup full. This was just enough for the three of us to share for the mashed potatoes.
We were astonished when we got the bill that they had charged us £1.50 for 'meat sauce'. A real cheek after we had spent over £100 on our lunches and wine for 4.
When we paid the bill we commented that we were surprised to be charged. He did not seem interested.
This is such a shame as we have lunched here several times before but in future will seek an alternative that does not rip off its customers.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank Barrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

Six of us booked into Stirk House last weekend on their £85 dinner B&B deal , absolutely perfect , great food and accommodation, very helpful staff . Already looking forward to our next visit. Enjoyed the swim and walk around the grounds

Room tip: Check the special offers
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 686Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews