We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Impressions”
Review of The Wheatsheaf

The Wheatsheaf
Ranked #18 of 31 Restaurants in Garstang
Cuisines: Pub
Restaurant details
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

First time I have visited this pub. When I have time I like to try different pubs out and it had a very nice atmosphere with friendly staff. The beams were very low - you don't have to be over six feet to bang your head. Generally a nice place with a tick for future visits when passing.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank J2R2R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
142sandrao, Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2017

Hope we see you return again soon to us. The original part of the building dates back to 1717... Our forefathers would have been much smaller in stature, hence the roof height in the front bar. It is full of original character and tradition, which seems to be favoured over larger open spaces in the locality. Raising the ceiling, whilst not possible, we certainly try to raise the roof with atmosphere and service!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Went for lunch to celebrate my Mum's 80th birthday. The food was excellent and the service was even better. We were royally looked after by Niall and his staff, and the whole experience was really memorable for all the right reasons. Highly recommended if you are in the area.

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
142sandrao, Owner at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2017

You are most welcome and an absolute pleasure to entertain on the day. We do hope that mum enjoyed her birthday and that she has many many more to look forward to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Having been on many an occasion i would like to say what a great place this is .
Niall (the landlord) and his wife along with a fabulous team of bar and kitchen staff run this place superbly , excellent choice of drinks and food dont hesitate to visit, you wont be dissapointed.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank graham m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

We visited in Winter and there was a lovely cozy feel about the pub, a lovely log fire and a nice atmosphere. Food was great, wine was lovely. Will definitely return when we are next in the area.

Date of visit: November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Went with a friend for lunch, superb food, 'Ness pie and chips, best pie and chips I've ever had and my friend thought so too, lovely service, very reasonable, excellent.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank suzannelouis_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wheatsheaf also viewed

Garstang, Wyre District
Glasson Dock, Lancaster District
 
Garstang, Wyre District
 
Garstang, Wyre District
Garstang, Wyre District
 

Been to The Wheatsheaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing