We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Interesting”
Review of Clitheroe Castle

Clitheroe Castle
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Clitheroe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The museum stands high on Castle Hill, in the shadow of the Castle Keep, an image which has dominated Clitheroe's skyline for over 800 years. The historic landmark of Clitheroe, in the heart of the Ribble Valley offers a day of exploration for all the family. Our intriguing galleries will take you on a journey through 350 million years of history, heritage and geology of the local area. We have lots of activities for children in the museum - a competition hunt, dressing-up costumes, explorer back-packs (with hat and magnifying glass), craft activities and various interactive displays. Come and enjoy a fun-filled day of exploration and learning.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The history and the castle site and content are very Interesting for all ages children’s to adult lots to do and see

Thank Morhaf A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMuseums, Site Supervisor at Clitheroe Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. We have something for all ages here at Clitheroe Castle with lots of fun activities to keep the children happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"war memorial"
in 18 reviews
"ribble valley"
in 36 reviews
"fantastic views"
in 19 reviews
"bowling green"
in 12 reviews
"atrium cafe"
in 11 reviews
"worth the climb"
in 10 reviews
"lovely cafe"
in 9 reviews
"surrounding countryside"
in 17 reviews
"play area"
in 9 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 30 reviews
"nice walk"
in 14 reviews
"treasure hunt"
in 5 reviews
"local history"
in 11 reviews
"town centre"
in 14 reviews
"small museum"
in 5 reviews
"band stand"
in 5 reviews
"informative museum"
in 5 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The weather was very poor when I visited Clitheroe Castle. Low cloud and drizzle were the order of the day. What a pity to have missed the magnificent views that are provided from the castle keep. Visits to the grounds and keep are free of charge. There is also an interesting museum and a very pleasant café on site.
The Castle is located close to the town centre and I would certainly visit it again when in the area on a fine day.

Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMuseums, Site Supervisor at Clitheroe Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments. It's a shame that the weather was not good when you visited. The views from the castle keep are amazing. We hope to see you back on a sunny day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The recent visit to Clitrheroe Castle was very interesting but there is a definite lack of information regarding the military history of this ancient castle.

Thank huskyman575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMuseums, Site Supervisor at Clitheroe Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry that you did not find enough information about the military history of the castle. The documented historical information that we have is quite limited and the information which we provide inside the museum (via the video clip) is intended to be accessible to all visitors and therefore does not contain too much detailed information. I will pass on your comments to the museum manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited as a group of 15 Brownies and 5 Leaders, Wet Day but decided to walk up to the museum anyway. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We had let them know we where coming so they were expecting and had everything prepared on arrival, and very patient with the girls, who spent ages in the shop, couldn't decide what to buy. The girls really enjoyed their visit. Great view from the Castle, we could even spot Waddow Hall, where we were staying. The Castle Café was lovely as the weather was bad they allowed us to eat our pack lunches in there which was really good of them, and allowed our leaders to have a much needed cup of tea. The café staff were friendly and polite. A great place to visit.

Thank Joanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMuseums, Site Supervisor at Clitheroe Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for posting a review. It's a shame you had such a wet day for your visit but, as you say, there is plenty to keep you occupied inside the museum. I'll pass on your thanks to the café staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I brought family friends to Clitheroe for a mooch and as it was such a clear bright autumn day we decided to make the effort and climb the hill to the castle. What beautiful views of Pendle Hill and the Ribble Valley! There is also a dinky museum and a lovely cafe which even serves a beatifully presented and delicious vegetarian breakfast. We had a great time, well worth the effort:)

1  Thank tiggiwinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LMuseums, Site Supervisor at Clitheroe Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for posting a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and enjoyed your breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clitheroe Castle also viewed

Whalley, Clitheroe
Barley, Lancashire
 
Clitheroe, Lancashire
 

Been to Clitheroe Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing