We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great family cottage in the heart of wonderful...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Breakwater Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
86 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Whitstable, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 86 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
BarnabySm...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great family cottage in the heart of wonderful Whitstable”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed over Christmas and were greeted by a beautiful Christmas tree in the lounge.
The log burner was a lovely addition making the lounge a wonderful room to spend time in.
The bedrooms all good sizes, the bathroom despite being downstairs was clean and new.
The location was perfect, 3 minutes to the heart of Whitstable.
Highly recommended.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie P
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Decor, Great Location”
Reviewed 3 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

We went to Breakwater Cottage for a weekend with friends in December 2013. The house was wonderful and beautifully decorated. We really enjoyed relaxing in front of the wood burner with a cup of tea, walking through Whitstable and its lovely shops as well as walks along the beach. The house is conveniently located 2minute walk from the main street and 5minute walk from the beach. I also recommend going to the Lobster Shack where you can enjoy delicious oysters and lobster with a beautiful view on the sea for an affordable price. We're definitely thinking of going back to Breakwater Cottage in the summer to do some windsurfing and sunbathing!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: wood burner
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T4_Rich
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed 30 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Stayed in this lovely cottage for a long weekend with some friends. We loved the décor which is modern whilst maintaining traditional charm. It was a pleasure to spend time there and we agreed it is much better than the standard holiday lets. Its in a great location and we all enjoyed spending time relaxing by the wood burner after a day walking along the coast or enjoying Whitstable's unique shops. The harbour and shops are just a very short walk away. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor
Liked least: Parking was easy when we stayed, but it may be harder to find a space in summer.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachyPood...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Perfect for Whitstable Break”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Wow - what a cottage!
The whole process of renting this cottage was so easy - Rafal is so friendly over the phone and then Kirsty who checks you in and out is just so lovely and has great advice. Nothing was too much of a problem and she was so flexible about checking in and out.
The inside is done up to such a high spec and is modern but has a certain rustic charm. Towels are provided and the linen was lovely.
The location is great and once we were parked on the Friday evening the close proximity of the cottage to the town meant we didnt have to move it again until we left on the Sunday. Its literally a two minute walk into the centre of th town and everything is just incredibly close by.
There were just two of us staying and so there was plenty of space but we could see how it would easily fit more people.....
One thing I would say is it would be great to have WiFi but then again we barely looked at our phones whist we were there and it was just nice to have an incredibly peaceful and calm romantic holiday away from it all.
I cant reccomend this cottage enough and we cannot wait to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The little quirky touches throughout the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millsey20...
Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Comfortable and stylish family cottage”
Reviewed 3 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We enjoyed staying in this comfortable and tastefully renovated cottage. It had everything we needed to sleep comfortably, cook and clean clothes and the kids just enjoyed hanging out here at the end of a long day of sight-seeing. Located in the centre of the original town, it was only a few minutes to walk to all the charming shops, restaurants and grocery shops (as an Aussie, the beach made little impression on me!). Kirstie, who looks after the cottage, was so very helpful and kind to us too. Recommended for families but be aware the stairs are very steep so asking for a stair guard would be a good idea for those with young children.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location, having everything we needed
Liked least: Staircase was a bit scary for very young children and difficulty parking on the crowded street (for an Aussie!). No upstairs toilet.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing