We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic, relaxing holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Breakwater Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
86 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Whitstable, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 86 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
katiekitt...
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic, relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This is a fantastic holiday cottage, contemporary, clean and perfectly located.
On arrival we managed to park right outside cottage and didn't use the car for remainder of week.

The property is lovely and has a great rear garden which catches morning sun.
Washing machine, dishwasher so that was brilliant, could do with a few more cooking ovenware dishes though, especially if you decide to eat in.
The bathroom is lovely, shower great but occasionally ran hot/cold suddenly which may suggest pressure problem. Definitely woke you up in the morning.
Beds comfy, bedding lovely. One towel per person per week was not great so would suggest two - ladies need two towels (one for the hair!)
No wifi (if you are with Vodaphone you will not be able to get Internet) if you are with Orange, you will..!
All in all, a lovely holiday let. Kirsty who deals with checking you in and out is just great and on hand should you need anything, Rafal the owner is also great with immediate responses and contact and emails. If you want to rent a holiday cottage which is clean and in a perfect location, this is ideal.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect seaside retreat - right in the heart of Whitstable”
Reviewed 5 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

After some research about properties to rent in the area, my decision was made on presentation and cost. The cottage was perfectly represented by the photos on the website and was tastefully decorated throughout with a charming vintage feel. The garden was a great bonus as my children used it as an extra room! Loved the artificial turf, by the way! The bathroom is downstairs which is typical of the style of property and posed a couple of early morning problems with my young children needing the loo, but otherwise it all worked well, and the bedrooms and living space were extremely comfortable. (The beds were so comfortable!!). For the price, I was amazed at the quality. It beats staying in a B&B or small hotel any day. The pretty vintage shops at cafes at the end of the road were charming, and there was a nice balance of familiar restaurants for my kids (Pizza Express, Prezzo and Zizzi .... Remember to print off your vouchers as wifi is limited inside these restaurants).
Rafal was extremely helpful beforehand, and recommended some good nearby family beaches, as Whitstable beach itself is pebbly and not ideal for little feet and swimming. We drove to Botany Bay, a blue-flag sandy beach just passed Margate on the Broadstairs stretch which was about a 40min drive away. It was perfect - not too big, but pretty, and well managed with a small cafe/shop, deck chair hire and lifeguards.
Lastly, Kirsty is a delight! She was extremely helpful and has texted me since we left saying she has found my daughter's sun hat which she is going to post back.

I would highly recommend Breakwater Cottage to families and friends of all ages.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The vintage charm and location
Liked least: Downstairs bathroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1PGK
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

5 minutes walk to the harbour, same to the very pleasant town and also to get groceries. House has everything you need for a pleasant stay. As has been mentioned in other reviews - the stairs are steep and unsuitable for some. Beds comfy. If you like running / cycling / walking then I would recommend the seafront - flat and paved - that takes you over 10km (including return) from Whitstable to Hearne Bay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: steep stairs
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobjamesB...
barnet
2 reviews
“A blissful stay by the sea in the perfect cottage”
Reviewed 8 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We have recently returned from a wonderful three day mini break stay at Breakwater Cottage Whitstable, The cottage was all we could of asked for and more, it was spotlessly clean, modern with a secluded pretty garden. The cottage also had really nice personal touches, like carefully chosen pieces of furniture that felt like you were staying somewhere really special, which of course we were!

The cottage is set back from Whitstable's main High St, with its abundance of second hand furniture shops, pubs bars and great restaurants, we had dinner at Birdies and Samphire on consecutive nights and were not disappointed. The Parson Arms opposite The Whitstable Oyster company is a great pub which on the night we went had a really good band that had most punters up dancing.

Of course if you love seafood then this is the place for you, as well as the Whitstable Oyster Company the small shacks selling fresh fish on the beach promenade and around the working harbour are great for small seafood snacks or bigger bites if you wish.

All in all this was a great break for our family, the cottage is great and everything is close at hand, we have already been telling friends and family what a great place this is to stay, please try it for yourself you will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: felt like home from home
Liked least: nothing everything was great
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
938Kezza
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location”
Reviewed 15 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

The house is in a great location just 5 minutes walk from the shops and harbour. It was spotlessly clean and has a lovely garden with BBQ - all as per pictures. Raj and Kirsty were so helpful in regards to booking and getting keys. Only bad points the stairs are quite steep, not suitable for the elderly. All in all it is a great place to stay and I would recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing