We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cliftonville House
Nearby Hotels
Marine Hotel(Whitstable)
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Continental(Whitstable)(Great Value!)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillview(Whitstable)(Great Value!)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crescent Turner Hotel(Whitstable)(Great Value!)
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ampersand House Bed & Breakfast(Whitstable)(Great Value!)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Whitstable Bay Bed and Breakfast(Whitstable)(Great Value!)
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Whitstable Hotel(Whitstable)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$106
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No. 9(Whitstable)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
116
15
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
116
15
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhite roomfiltered watershower and toiletmassive comfy bedcovered parkingsuper hostlovely roombiscuitstea and coffeefabulous breakfastperfect retreatminute walkblack puddingcooked breakfastsueensuitesofa
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2016

The Cliftonville has three rooms for guests - two upstairs and the Lavender room on the ground floor. I stayed in the Lavender which, I believe, is the cheapest of the three. The owner Sue is a lovely lady and a warm welcome was received. Firstly she allowed me to park in a parking bay reserved for guests. That was helpful as Whitstable is not an easy place to park. Sue showed me a tourist map and explained how to walk to the seafront.

The Lavender room is an internal room - i.e. there is no window to the outside world. There was a window to a neighbouring room. It may have been a utility room or something so sunlight did come in via that room. There was a curtain over that window by the way. It was a slightly dim room but, despite that, very clean and comfortable.

There was a TV, tea, coffee and biscuits. The plug sockets all seemed to be at ground level so, to boil some water, the kettle has to go on the floor.

The room has a small ensuite. It is the narrowest ensuite I've ever seen with a small basin and a toilet. I would say that a very large person would struggle to sit on the toilet. The room must be less than one yard wide. I'm not knocking it - just giving the facts. It was fine for me as was the shower which was a circular cubicle elsewhere in the room.

The breakfast was superbly cooked and well presented. That is served in the front room. It's about 15-20 minutes walk to the sea and about 10-15 minutes walk to the town centre. If you are staying in Whitstable, I would recommend the Cliftonville.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sew50, Owner at Cliftonville House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2016

Pleased you had a comfortable stay Alan & thank you for your review. If you come again I'll make sure you get one of the rooms upstairs!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2016

I booked this particular B&B simply because parking was available. The lady of the house, Sue, was an added bonus! She was extremely welcoming and informative and the cooked breakfast she provided was excellent. The accommodation is homely and comfortable and within easy walking distance of the town. Absolutely ideal on all counts.

Stayed: June 2016
1  Thank Jan064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sew50, Owner at Cliftonville House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2016

Thanks for your review Jan & Pete pleased you all enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

Lovely B &B with owner Sue who was attentive yet relaxed. Well worth the money. Perfect for a couple to get away from it all. 10 min walk to town and train station, Sue gave us a map of a lovely walk along the coast that led to the harbour. Plenty of places to eat within a 5 min walk. Breakfast was simple but cooked well.
Town is a bit quirky and arty so any longer than 2 days means you may need to go further afield to entertain yourselves during the day.
Working out dates for our next visit already!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank GemLouNibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sew50, Owner at Cliftonville House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2016

Thanks for your review Gemma Louise, pleased you & El enjoyed your stay, you're welcome back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016

We had a lovely stay at Cliftonville House. Sue is the perfect hostess, very friendly and helpful. The white room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable with an excellent en-suite. The breakfast was well cooked and very tasty. We will certainly stay there again when we visit Whitstable.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 29PMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sew50, Owner at Cliftonville House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2016

Thanks for your review Pat & Bob, I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay & look forward to seeing you both again if you're over this way

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2016

We've now stayed in both the Lemon room and the White room and had a very comfortable stay in both rooms. We were asked if we had any dietary requirements before we arrived and were given a delicious vegetarian breakfast. Sue has thought of the small details that make a difference, like a water filter in the room and use of a fridge.The B&B is well placed for walking into town and the addition of parking made it a perfect choice. We will definitely be making this our B&B of choice in Whitstable.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sew50, Owner at Cliftonville House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2016

Thanks for your review Simon & Jo. Pleased you enjoyed staying at Cliftonville House. i hope you've managed to find a house in Whitstable by now. Pop in when you're settled, it'd be lovely to see you both, JJ would like it too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews