We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lodges and stay”
Review of Princes Golf Club

Princes Golf Club
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Prince's offers all that is best in modern golf: with its 27 holes of Championship links golf, practice facilities to match and a centrally located clubhouse Since its opening in 2012, Prince's can now offer visiting golfers overnight accommodation in its 38 bedroom facility - The Lodge. Prince's boasts 3 loops of 9 holes: The Shore, The Dunes and the Himalayas, all of which have their own unique characteristics and signature holes and have benefited from significant investment and redevelopment over recent years. Players of all standards will enjoy the challenge of this links and the outstanding views. The Lodge at Prince's, situated at the entrance to the course has 12 bedrooms and two luxurious suites and the adjacent Lodge apartments have 12 two bedroom apartments. All bedrooms have ensuite facilities, club storage and battery charging points and wonderful views across the golf course or Sandwich Bay. The apartments are particularly well suited to golfing groups with a comfortable lounge in each apartment. In addition the Lodge offers a quality dining experience in the Brasserie on the Bay which was re-awarded 2 AA Rosettes in 2014 and golfers can also enjoy the Lodge bar menu in front of the warming log burning stove or in the Summer months on the Terrace. Prince's prides itself on helpful, attentive staff who understand your needs from your first enquiry to service during your golf day itself. Fourballs are welcome seven days a week and groups of any size can be accommodated.
Reviewed 3 April 2017

We stayed and played at Princes Lodges on our trip to Littlestone GC, Princes GC, Royal St Georges & Cinque Ports. The Lodges and main bar & catering area are excellent. Breakfast was very good with the staff pleasant and helpful. The course is a good links layout and has some challenging holes. The only minus was the condition of the greens. The surfaces were quite wooly and they had quite a lot of sand top dressing on them. I understand the maintenance needs doing this time of the year so we were just unlucky. An overall good experience.

Thank Tommy5075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"cinque ports"
in 7 reviews
"in great condition"
in 4 reviews
"royal st georges"
in 6 reviews
"friendly staff"
in 5 reviews
"cannot fault"
in 2 reviews
"fast greens"
in 2 reviews
"real challenge"
in 2 reviews
"bar staff"
in 2 reviews
"pro shop"
in 3 reviews
"links course"
in 2 reviews
"golf club"
in 3 reviews
"fantastic place"
in 2 reviews
"himalayas"
in 6 reviews
"lodge"
in 16 reviews
"shore"
in 10 reviews
"holes"
in 13 reviews
"test"
in 5 reviews
Filter

19 - 23 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2017

Probably one of the best links courses in the country. Challenging in parts but a joy to play. Stunning views over the bay. Course conditions very good and "ball bounce and run" provided good distance for the amateur golfer. I was attending on a charity day consisting of 150 players. The most disappointing experience of a well organised day was the evening meal. Not an offering to be proud of and I am confident the chef was also unhappy with the outcome, I certainly would be as an ex trained Savoy chef.

Thank ACF75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016

Great course with fantastic views and setting. Played in Winter but without any rain or wind and still struggled to shoot a decent score! Course is long and challenging but do feel if your playing well there is an opportunity to shoot a low score round here. Course was in great condition and greens ran true so thoroughly enjoyed our visit.

Thank Steviegl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali M, Director of Sales at Princes Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Thank you for your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your day on the links at Prince's.

Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Myself and friend availed ourselves of the brilliant stay and play deal at Princes GC. £99 staying at the lodge, 2 rounds and dinner and breakfast. It is basically cheaper than staying at home.

Firstly the golf. I am very lucky with the golf courses i have been able to play around the world and Princes is a wonderful display of links golf and eminently playable but ready to bite at a moments notice. Just what you want from a links golf course. All 3 of the loops are in excellent condition for any time of the year let alone December. Speedy greens, we intend to go back in the summer to play them when they are lightening quick, that will be a fun day.
We bumped into a few of the greens staff and they were good fun and welcoming and have done an excellent job on the course and need mentioning.

The clubhouse was lovely and i have to disagree with a previous reviewer who is clearly talking nonsense. It is not tired but does have character, which personally i like in a clubhouse, lots of the clubs history shown etc. The staff were welcoming and chatty and the view is awesome. The breakfast was also superb.

We stayed at the lodge which is in great condition, our room was super clean and i stay in at least 100 hotels a year, so i know what to look for. The room was extremely well appointed and had wonderful views out over the course and of Royal St Georges next door.
All the staff as with everyone else at the course were superb and friendly.

We will certainly be back and if you have not been to Princes to play then i strongly recommend that you change that.

Thanks to everyone from the start whilst Booking to the end when we regretfully drove away.

Andy Ball, Dec 16.

2  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali M, Director of Sales at Princes Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Thank you for visiting Prince's and taking the time to place a review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your day with us and I shall pass your positive comments onto our Team.

Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2016

Very tough coarses for me but enjoyed it .good food nice lodge clean and tidy staff all very polite. Must return soon maybe in the summer

Thank donkey5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ali M, Director of Sales at Princes Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Glad you enjoyed your day, thank for your review.

Hope to see you during the Summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Princes Golf Club also viewed

 
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
Cowden, Sevenoaks District
 

Been to Princes Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing